Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

U.G.O

by aamatniekss - Compo Entry

U.G.O is a game about unidentified growing organism that's fallen from the skies and is now devouring everything that stands in it's way!
You must press left and right arrow buttons to destroy the enemies coming at you, and absorb their blood orbs to grow larger.

Be careful not to miss the enemies, as that will make your tongue get stuck to the floor for a couple seconds, making you more vulnerable. So remember button mashing is not good!

The game includes both themes - Growth and 2 button controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#18Graphics4.47
#54Theme4.30
#61Overall3.94
#74Humor3.60
#88Fun3.80
#128Mood3.59
#155Audio3.44
#385Innovation3.31

Comments

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06am

Fun game and cool concept. It is annoying to have to restart the entire game rather than just restart the stage you were on. Nice background art!

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55am

Pretty fun game and nice art :)

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56am

Some awesome looking graphics, nice music, and a very nice game. Cool concept too.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19am

I love the art! :) and that you switch the scenery up for variety. It's a simple yet very effective game.

Khallane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21am

Love your art :)

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00am

Great game with cool concept :)

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:01am

My two favorite things about this game that stood out immediately were the art and the little intro sequence. In my opinion the funny little cutscene in the beginning adds a lot to the game overall (I'm going to have to start doing that). Nice job!

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:04am

Very good, polished, and complete game. Even with only one level this would have been a good game, but then I grew into the second level and saw new enemy types and more difficult gameplay. Very well-implemented!

The only - I can think of is that it is a bit difficult, but graphics are beautiful, sounds fit in, awesome usage of the themes, and a lot of content.

Great entry! Good luck :)

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Thanks everyone! Im glad you're enjoying the game so far! ^^

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:17pm

this is a very polished and well balanced game. i enjoyed playing it :)

quacklemtduck says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Good game! Its hard, but fun. The graphics are very enjoyable.

kepons says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:27pm

A nice little game. The art is very appealing.

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23pm

I'm amazed :O All that ART! It's very fun too. You are really talented, good job!

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Simple Game, great art!

Ornicar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Each stage is a bit long, but it's a really cool game :D
Really good looking sprites btw

JaJ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Love the idea and the art style, and it was fun too, but the controls felt a bit sluggish to me.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Simple yet fun. Good work!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Nothing groundbreaking but simple, fun and very polished.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Really lovely pixel art, my favorite so far in the compo! The game is fun, needs some controls / length tweaking but overall excellent work. 'v'

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Really fun, I especially like the punishment for missing an attack, makes it feel challenging yet fair. The vastly different themes between the levels makes you want to keep playing until you've seen it all.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:39pm

It looks really good. Is there no mac or web port? :/

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

One of my favourite games of the jam so far! It's got a lot of things going for it. It's very pretty and polished. The gameplay is simple, challenging and fair (though, it took me a but to realize that I could chain licks together if I didn't miss). I could feel myself getting better at judging the distances and timing. Also, as you get bigger during a stage, it's easier to hit, which makes you feel like you're getting on a roll. Finally, the different stages are a very satisfying reward you get for excelling at the game; the question "how big can I get?" helps drive the player. I'd like to see this on my phone!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57pm

@Fanttum, sorry no, only windows version.

Thanks everyone though! I really appreciate it! :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37pm

This was really fun and the art and animation really add to this. I love how he gets tired for a little bit when missing with your tongue so you can't just keep spamming it. Quite challenging!

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Art looked really great. The mechanics were simple but pretty difficult. It took me a few tries to realize that missing with a tongue strike would add a delay before I could fire again. It felt a bit odd that there was no sound during the opening cutscene. All in all very well done entry.

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Fun and simple concept. With great retro graphics.

I am not sure how many levels it has but I only reached the second.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:08pm

cute pixel art. I will have to play some more to try and reach the other levels. It's a bit hard but I think if you work on this a couple more days and refine it a bit, you could have a pretty cool little game that could entertain anyone for 1-2 dollars on an app store etc.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Very fun game, the art is amazing by the way :)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Awesome flashbacks to my Atari ST days! Love the art, the music, everything. :)

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Great use of both themes! Very fun!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Very polished! I really like the graphics and the animations. Sync'ing the attack delays adds some challenge, too.

Great job!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Great use of both themes, nice graphic!

The game is hard, the collision looks off and you die a lot of cheap deaths. It is very frustrating and I could't pass the first stage.

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Wow, that was just beautifully crafted, so polished! Great job! My favourite so far.

grama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:37pm

well done. simple and polished. had a bit of a hard time advancing much, but great entry overall.

Ayte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49am

Really nice game !
Loved those animations

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:57am

Pretty nice! very good concept!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

Great art. Felt like there could have been more of a curve for the difficulty. But great entry.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

The graphics are amazing. Really impressive :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00am

A very nicely made game. The two-button fighter mightn't quite be up to the level of some of the main examples of the genre, but for a 48 hour game it's very high quality!

I have to agree with the people saying the levels are a little too long, though. I got up to level 3 a couple times, but restarting took too long for me to try going further.

Excellent pixel art, too!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53am

The art is the key :) special love for pixelated graphics, Fun game

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06am

My best is 437 for the second time I played. Didn't play again though, sorry. I really liked how the game offers an infinite gameplay with scoring but it still has an advancement mechanic. I'm not sure if it was infinite but why not. Visually and aurally it was satisfying. Keep up the good work.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37am

I don't like games with too simplified controls, but this one was surprisingly - very fun. :) Keep up the good work.

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Very cool game! i liked its simple and fun! and awesome pixel art! Nice work!

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Mechanics are cool but super stressful! :D Art is super nice. I scored 1584 and got bored as apparently there was nothing else to do, but it was fun while it lasted. :D

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Fun gameplay, beautiful pixel art and cool music+sfx. I especially like all the little details. Great job!

celisoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Funny but hard game :)

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

It's really pretty!! I have a soft spot for pixel art and this is done so well.

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Cool game! I really liked the intro story thing :)

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Fun and simple concept, tried to grow him up 5 times, but it's too difficult for me :D

jim3wg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice one, great pixel art !

Dyn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Awesome art and idea of the game.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Saw this one come up on my Twitter feed during development. Glad to have to chance to finally play it!

vortex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Great game with a beautiful artstyle and nice sound.
I found your game extremely hard and didn't manage to get past the first level...

Suaave says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Nice and consistent art style. The audio is clear and fitting, though I'd love to hear the music change (slightly) when getting to the next stage. The difficulty is a bit challenging, well balanced! Would be working great on mobile devices.

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Great use of the themes, nice work! A bit difficult starting out.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I liked the into made me laugh that got humor points for me :)

i enjoyed this game :)
Well Done!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Awesome game, 10/10 would play for a solid hour again.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17am

nice, the graphics are very good, well done

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Nice entry and great pixel art :)

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Nice graphics.

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very simple but well executed idea. The graphics are amazing for spending only 2 days on them :o
The game's a bit unforgiving though, having to restart the entire game instead of just the level you're on. Made me quit despite wanting to see more levels :(

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Very challenging! i like that, i needed time to get used with the game, but its very fun, i liked too the concept art, nice pixel art, good job

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:24am

Awesome game! Loved how you kept things interesting and challenging with the different ways of dealing with the different types of enemies and the tongue cooldown on error. The 3rd size got too hard for me (I guess it's the last one, is it?), but I could probably beat it had I been more persistent - maybe I'll try again later. I liked the humor in the intro scene and wished it had been translated into the gameplay, too, somehow. Very good job, man!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Nice little nod to that film that's coming out ;)

Music is nice too and I like the nice big pixels. Very difficult, but not unfairly so.

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:09am

Nice bg art! Pretty fun game!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:07pm

It was a bit unforgiving, especially as you grew. Would be nice to start again from the stage you reached. It was a cool idea though, and is definitely worthy of full marks for theme. The graphics are cool too and suit the gameplay well

DonEngland says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Great idea, got a score of 1323. Second level felt the most polished.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:38am

so much fun - added to my favorites

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Great work Nauris! Loved it! Solid entry. :)

Tselmek says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Very cool mechanics and nice pixelart. Some situations get a little overwhelming once you get hit once. Love the UGO acronym, that's clever.

themadknights says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Love this kind of pixelart, the game is fun and quite addictive to play. ( And hard to master it :P )

The cutscene is a nice surprise, and the implementation of the two themes is supreme.

Great game!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Loved this. Great art and use of both themes. Well done. Wish you could restart on the current stage you reached, vs playing through previous ones. Really like the use os scale here.

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Nice little game, using both themes well. Audiovisuals are great as always in your games. One oddity I've found is difficulty progression - I've found the second level to be much more gimmicky than the third (and pretty much the last) one. The aforementioned second level was probably the most interesting one, too. Great job, overall. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]