Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Munch-ster

by Green Soda - Jam Entry

Play as a monster from a crashed UFO. Rampage through the city and EAT everything you can to GROW and SURVIVE from hunger, and the POWLICE!

W - move towards the direction of the dial
O - toggle clockwise/counter-clockwise
Hint: Use 'O' more often for better handling

Graphics - Jefferson Cristobal
Animator - John Kevin Pineda
Programmer - Maekell Ivan Mina

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

PixlWalkr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:17am

Had fun munching those pesky humans, nice graphics also :)

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17am

haha, your game is quite similar to mine, but far better graphics and polish!

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24am

Fun game, controls took a while to sink in but after that it was neat to get into. Didn't really get rage mode though :P
Also I couldn't eat tanks, maybe I just wasn't big enough yet.

Maybe make more builds so people can play this in the browser?

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41am

WOOOOOW, that final thing was unesperated, haha, love it, was a nice modelation you made of him too, haha, really cool game, just the controls didnt feel to comfortable, but, i know, its the rules, maybe if you made the monster follow the mouse... dont know, well nway, good work guys

Namshuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:49am

I like how everything looks somewhat minimal yet so expressive. Especially the running humans. lol
I'm still wondering how that little creature could fit inside its spaceship when it can grow as big as a building when its fed. Hahaha! Nice job! :D

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:25am

Controls are really weird but nice graphics and design

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:52pm

That ending though. xD
Great visuals! Controls were quite confusing at the start, but it was really fun after I got the hang of it.

RovingSquid says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Fun game! Interesting movement controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]