Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

DeltaSwing

by DeltaNegative - Jam Entry

A simple game that lets you swing between enormous, GROWING mushrooms using the TWO BUTTONS on your mouse. Oh, and kill bugs. What more to ask of life?
By the way, this is the first LD for everyone on the team ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#182Audio(Jam)3.61
#304Graphics(Jam)3.81
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#362Mood(Jam)3.40
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#502Innovation(Jam)3.16
#598Humor(Jam)2.52
#668Theme(Jam)3.52

Comments

RovingSquid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

No sound, or just me? Otherwise, interesting concept...

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

That was quite an interesting game. I however, didn't see the need for the grapple. Perhaps, I'm being silly but just pointing and shooting worked fine for me. However, the audio and graphics were nice.

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Amazing! The music is so good. It's just got a cool vibe to it, though I wish the enemies didn't instantly kill you.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Wow that looked good. Music was great. I somehow managed to launch myself through a mushroom all the way up, just to find more mushrooms up there. And wasps. I shot them.

Jordan Kniest says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

I like the grappling hook.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Maybe nice concept, but the gameplay was a little bit too simple i think. But i like audio and graphics style!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:11pm

"What the fuck is going on: the game"

I really liked it. Nice (ab)use of particles and graphical effects. Felt that it was a bit too easy. And there wasn't a lot of swinging with the way your grappling hook worked.

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Great presentation. Also, any game about killing bees is the best.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

The swinging physics are fun, if a little unnecessary. The music was cool, but I found it a little unfitting. (Not sure what WOULD fit for this game, really.)

Soka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Its really fun but I would appreciate something in the center of the screen so I can see where I'm shooting, I like the graphics I don't know why its beautifly blocky, good execution of the theme too :)

rijnswand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Hey! I've tried the linux x86_64 version, but the screen is mostly black most of the time.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2105283/send/Captura%20de%20pantalla%20de%202015-12-15%2000-13-45.png

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:39am

It was quite fun grappling around the cave. Could use some more feedback when you shoot the enemies as that would make the action of fighting them feel so much better.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Fun controls! Would like to see something more done with this!
Awesome!

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:05pm

really like the mood, died to a spider before figuring out where they even were, and then glitched into a mushroom thing hah, but it was fun and interesting

n8m8 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Thanks for your game!
I played your game along with several others from this jam and 'reviewed' them here: https://n8r8.wordpress.com/2015/12/22/n8-r8s-8-ludum-dare-34-part-1/

Sauerkraut says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Random Info: You can actually win the game by collecting a shiny thing on top of a mushroom!
Really cool game, nice design and great music!
(Managed to grapple myself out of the map a few times though and had to restart xd)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]