Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Project sandtree

by Rikstar - Jam Entry

This game is about planting seeds in a deserted world.The world is barren and long forgotten, but you as a player have made it in there. You can grab seeds and plant them in the soil(plant them in the brown blocks) to grow the trees and to bring the world back to life.

The controls for this game are as follows. The right mouse button is used to walk and the left button is used to move object around in the world. The current movable objects are the white blocks at the start of the game and the seeds that can be found inside the structure; seeds also grow on trees.

You can find three kind of seeds one gives normal trees. The other two also have blocks growing on them. One has normal blocks and the other has jump blocks. Those two are movable with the left mouse button to access new areas in the game.

This game has a simple option menu it can be accessed by holding the "q" button. The options are as follows:

* First slider: FieldOfView from 30 to 160 degrees;

* Second slider: X mouse sensitivity;

* Third slider: Y mouse sensitivity;

* Checkbox: vSync;

* First button: returns the player to the beginning (is used when you are stuck);

* Second button: resets the level, thus it generates a new world;

* Third button: exits the game;



If you have any questions are have feedback on this game, than you can e-mail me at: rikhendriks@rocketmail.com

Or you can find me on twitter: https://twitter.com/NotAGameCompany

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#271Innovation(Jam)3.47
#509Graphics(Jam)3.47
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#637Mood(Jam)3.07
#759Humor(Jam)2.14
#840Theme(Jam)3.23
#939Fun(Jam)2.57

Comments

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:28pm

I think this game has a lot of potential. It took me a while to realise what was going on but I think that is all part of the idea of it.

For some reason I really liked with at you did with the trees. having them grow properly like that.

My only main criticism is the controls. 2 button controls isnt very appropriate for this. Give us a wasd controller at least.

Oh and the centre dot isnt centre. But you probably know that.

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32pm

I like the art style, especially the effect for the trees growing. Took me awhile to figure out seeds could only be planted in certain places. I put a bunch of them under the sand. After I planted some trees I wasn't sure what to do next.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36pm

I like the universe and the colors. I spend a few time to understand how to move seeds because you need to have your cursor on the right side of the seed so you can hold it. I also tried to uses white blocks to climb to unreachable places but the fact that most of the blocks have unclimbable slopes I finaly gave up.

JALgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

The slow pacing and the graphics were quite nice, but I could not really figure out what to do. I might be stupid but I did not find any trees.

jachepe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Cool! I suggest you work in the game after the jam. It has a lot of potential

vinipereira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:05pm

It didn't open in Mac Platform. But looks awsome!

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45pm

I tried moving white blocks to rech into the "building" but since i couldn't climpt the white blocks that seemed not doable, couldn't find any seeds.

Rikstar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I didn't expect the slope of the movement to be a problem. I will release a fix for this and make the player walk on steeper slopes. I have also found the bug with the center of the mouse and it will be removed. Thank you all for the feedback!

Japes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50pm

It feels really satisfying when you plant a tree, and once I figured out how to use the white boxes to reach higher levels became more interesting.
A few small things which I think would really improve the game:
1. Centre the crosshair. Unless there's a reason it's off centre?
2. I agree with other raters, get rid of the 2 button thing and use normal wasd. When I plant a tree I want to backpedal and watch it's growth.

Cool game I think it has potential.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Really creative idea! nice work of the two themes as well!

Rikstar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

I definately agree on the second point you made. I had the same feelings about the current system. But I kept hold of it because of the theme. Hmm but I can't reproduce the bug that the crosshair is off centre; I will have a look at that.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:09am

Nice work

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Beautiful game and enjoyable gameplay, good job

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Well, the game was kinda boring, which is sad as the idea is good and has a lot of potential. The graphics are nice, I love the No-Texture style so thumbs up from me!

Mar 29, 2016 @ 12:55am

Interesting game, wish I could move faster! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]