Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

My RoboCaptain!

by EternalCastleStudio - Jam Entry

Jam Entry with the theme "Growing".

"Aye, My Robocaptain" is a classic action game. We wanted to create a interesting experience with easy controls and a lot of enemies and explosions.

You will control a space pirate that is fighting against his enemy, the red bishop. You must defeat the army of maquines with only the help of a fairy-robot (Mina). If you recollect energy killing enemies, Mina will grow up and your life points will be healed. Her powers will be bigger too.


We did not have enough time to polish and balance well the game, but we hope you will enjoy it! Thanks for playing!

Credits:
- Programming, Game Design and Art: Javier Martínez (javifugitivo)
- Music and FX: Félix Herrero

Special Thanks for their wise advices and infinity patience to:
- Luis "Kolduis"
- Minerva Alemany
- Inma Fernández


Update 2: We have detected a bug that crashes the game. I had to update again to solve it. Sorry for the trouble.

Update: We have fixed a pair of last minute bugs with the special skill and the growing of your companion. Now it should work well.

WEB: http://eternalcastle.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Eternal_Castle
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EternalCastleStudio/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#431Audio(Jam)3.17
#479Fun(Jam)3.20
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#592Overall(Jam)3.24
#668Graphics(Jam)3.15
#719Mood(Jam)2.97
#961Innovation(Jam)2.33
#1030Theme(Jam)2.58

Comments

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45am

Simple platform game but nicely done! I have a lot of fun playing it!

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09am

Very good game, nice graphics, wonder music

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33am

In the beginning it felt a bit easy, but that was before a huge wave of enemies start running after me!

It's a decent game. I like the audio. The graphics could have been a tiny bit more polished.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I beated the game, is fun, i get some bored, cause is really easy to win, only stay press left click and when you are going to doing just right click. But anyway funny. Good job :D

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

There are lots of enemies and explosions, but the game doesn't have a great feel to it. You should really give this great talk a listen https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJdEqssNZ-U

The controls were simple enough (though until I saw we were using the mouse to do something I felt like they were weird, being all on the left).

Fun game all in all.

Good job!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Nice game Javi. It's fun but easy to beat. Hopefully the game will be expand in future. Nice job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Thanks for the feedback. The problem with the timing/difficult of the level was the lack of time .

I was more focused in doing a good control to use it in the future and build a good platform-system :-)

Thanks Rodaja for the video!

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Good game! Great use of the GM skeletons. There seems to be an error in your obj_hada, it does a reference to an instance that does not exists and it crashes. I imagine that this is an enemy that just got killed or something.
Good luck!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07pm

I will revise that, thanks for the feedback!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Good game!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:41pm

The addition of the fairy makes for some interesting gameplay in a platform shooter. With a bit of polish and some extra levels this game would be even greater.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Simply platform game, but a lot of fun with playing! I don't know where it matches the theme... But still nice idea of the robo-capitan! Music and colors make rwally good mood here, good job.

Firellon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Overall good, but I don't feel it connection with a theme, actually, it looks like a theme is an obstacle for this game. Graphics, audio are decent. Gameplay is nice, but it brings nothing new.

teamross says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Simple, clean and fun platform game!
Good graphics too!

pontooncity says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Little bit too easy, but decent foundation for a game. Not very connected to the theme(s).

ekiscrim says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I love it!

utgarda says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:26pm

The level starts with a well thought-through tutorial, that's cool!

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Gotta love a good shooter. Solid entry.

Roffe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:53pm

At first I felt it was way to easy, but I was quickly shushed. When enemies started coming from all directions, puh. Really nice platformer with awesome graphics! Good job :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Thanks for the feedback. My main purpose in this jam, was to do a functional platform engine with mouse-targets-attack. The problem was that I had to do graphics, animations and programming (I'm only one person in this moment + the musician).

I had some interesting features to improve the game, like recollect metal junk to do grow your character, your armor or your fairy. With some nice effects or orbits around the fairy. The level would be more metroidvania style but.. I had not time to do everything that I had thought. I am sorry.

I will use the learned in this jam to do a new project, thanks everybody again ;-)

kaa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:39pm

My fairy's done very well and we won!
Very solid platformer, good music, graphics

MrMordem says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:13am

Simple fun, graphics and music were pretty good, and i really like the character design of the cyborg pirate captain with his fairy :) just one minor detail i.m.o, i would have had the view zoomed out a little more to see a bit further what comes ahead, other than that the gameplay was good, a solid entry overall, good job !

SamH says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:10pm

It’s a bit short but a good entry overall. I found the camera switch upon direction changes a bit annoying, though, it messes with the aiming and doesn’t feel necessary. I believe with that kind of controls the camera should remain centered on the character.

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:11pm

So much fun here! ;) Nice game ;)

vortex says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Great sound design, and nice graphics...
The only thing that didn't really match the artstyle were the explosions...

MorseAmalgam says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:04am

Seems to have some issues with slowdown at times, but overall it's a good start. If you keep working on it, maybe expand the fairy's role/utility? From what I could tell, all it did was shoot straight forward if enemies were nearby, which wasn't super useful.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]