Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing light

by Schurtz - Jam Entry

My first game ever. The story of a little light who's trying to bring the Tree of light back to his place. Simple movement (A and D for moving, S for jumping) with a shooting component(left mouse button to shoot). Blocks and enemies are destractible to allow you getting deeper. This game is just a demo and contain only 3 levels. Please let me know if you like it and comment if you find something to make it better. THanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#696Fun(Jam)2.93
#711Audio(Jam)2.00
#770Graphics(Jam)2.93
#823Mood(Jam)2.73
#836Humor(Jam)1.76
#844Innovation(Jam)2.62
#857Overall(Jam)2.93
#1064Theme(Jam)2.36

Comments

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

It's a very nice game. The design could be refined more; most levels were trivial to solve by hugging a side and spamming your attack at a slight angle. Experiment with removing the shooting mechanic altogether, even.
Tech-wise, the only thing that comes to mind is polishing the character-tile collisions: it's easy to get caught up on a corner.

I liked the game a lot.
http://i.imgur.com/UbNtqyl.png

Schurtz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Thanks for your advices. I keep working on this game to make it better. Hope you will enjoy next updates(maybe in the following week)!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Web version links to a download rather than a web version

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Web is a Download page with lots of advertisement but the game is good

prymidion says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Very nice!

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:09pm

A nice little game. A bit of advice, having the character jump when I press downwards (S) isn`t the best. You might want to include a short tutorial or at least instructions on the start screen. Otherwise well done :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

The game is good but could use some improvements. I don't know if I like having the character jumping on S, it was kind of confusing since most games use W for up.

Other than that I think a tutorial or controls explanation could be nice.

angela says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Took me a bit to figure out the controls. But once I got it down it was pretty fun. I like the mechanic - where you fall a lot, and can't really see what is coming toward you. And then you're like "Oh thank god, I landed on something!" :) The little balls of light that flow off of the main character are a nice touch.
My only advice is that you might consider upping the shot range. It might help with game balance if the player can shoot at least as far as he can jump so that you can clear a path for your next move. I mostly stuck to the walls.
But, good solid concept and fun game.

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50pm

This game seems too classic for me, but it was well done.
Nice work.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Art is really great but it's to easy.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Nice game! But it kinda feels harder than it should be. Probably you should've made some checkpoints or give to main character more than 1 hp or something

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Great, but I can not kill monster?

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I liked the possibility to win the game without killing anybody, so basically it becomes an "avoid obstacles" type of game. Also I got stuck in corners several times.

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:10am

I like the idea to keep falling down and destroying the pathway.
The controls were a bit confussing with jumping on S and not giving enough feedback when damaging an enemy.
Overall the idea is great and can use a bit more polish to improve.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Hey! Congrats on finishing your first game :)
Gameplay had a lot of flaws but it was kinda nice, don't worry, you'll have time to improve. Keep making small projects like these and improving your skills :)

Dalkor says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:54am

Fun game. I see a lot of potential. I was able to pick up on the controls fairly quickly, but others may not so some quick demo in the beginning would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]