Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Moonflower

by timburbank - Compo Entry

Move with the arrow keys, collect flowers, and avoid spider webs.

Scoring
- Each flower grants +1
- Missing a flower gives -5
- Hitting a spider web resets score

Max score for current session is always shown

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Theme4.12
#437Graphics3.18
#554Fun3.06
#800Overall2.82
#836Innovation2.47
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

timburbank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08am

Note: Often runs better or Chrome than Firefox

burntcustard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Nice how you don't have to "restart" at all because your score resets, but there seem to be some issues with scoring (like when you miss a flower and lose a point it only changes your score when you then.. hit another flower?) The flower and stem are nice, but the spider web and player-pixie thing seem a bit out of place. Overall, pretty good!

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

I like the minimalist look. Maybe tighten the controls a little bit?

zatch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

Nice job with your graphics. I like how easy everything is to recognize and the flower animations were really nice to watch. Max score of 74 -- I enjoyed getting up to speed and moving fast! Would be nice if horizontal controls were gradual -- could be done by applying body.acceleration.x when input is held down, resetting that acceleration to 0 every update, and maybe increasing horizontal drag a bit. Always nice to see someone else build with Phaser! :)

Oski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Iffy controls, but beautiful.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43am

This was really cute! I like the little fairy and how the flowers bloom. I wish there was instructions though. Now I have more reasons to hate spiders.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:22am

Gets pretty fast. Controls seem a bit sensitive. Got a max score of 49

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23am

I loved the graphics and the minimalist approach. Speeding up on each flower made it really fun after a couple of flowers in a row. My main concern was that the sensitivity on the keys was too high and it made it hard to avoid the obstacle. Also, a nice soothing harp music would have been awesome! :) Great job overall

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:46am

I enjoy the 'non-restart' method of dying, that managed to keep me playing for longer.

the movement was a little too slippery, but other than that, I liked it.

simple but fun, well done :)

linseyray says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I really like the gameplay, it's a lot of fun to try and beat your score! I do agree the controls are a bit rough though, and would have loved to hear some sound. But overall the idea is good and there's definitely fun in there!

gregtruc says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:37pm

The gameplay and the controls doesn't match. I have nothing against cruel controls, but in this game I feel disconnected from the character and the world.
But it was really enjoyable. Not using death is a good idea, the acceleration is slow enough for us to get used to it, and it is really pretty.

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:31am

Fun! As a couple of others said, I really like the no-game-over restart mechanic. Cool art too; the animation of the flowers opening looks great.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:57am

Cute game. The controls could be better in my opinion, but overall, well done !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]