Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Normal Factory

by exhidor - Jam Entry

ONLY FOR LINUX RELEASE :
To start the Linux version, DO NOT Forget to export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=<SFML-DIR>/lib
You can dowload SFML by using apt-get or directly from sfml-dev.org
A NORMAL DAY IN A NORMAL FACTORY!

First of all thank you so much for your feedback. Be sure we pay attention to all feedback. We will use them as advice for next challenges.

THE GAME :
Today, you are the employee of a boring factory. You know what? You just have to press 2 buttons in the good order to transform well the product. And you do while the entire day!
But don't think it's too easy, if you missed one the two operations, the product will be not as good as it should be, and it's non-acceptable if you missed both. Be careful, three non-acceptable products, and you are FIRED!

Too easy? Then go ahead and show us your skills !!!

Theme choosen : obviously growing ... oh wait ! not at all !
Made in C++ with SFML2.

We fixed the music loop in the new version and corrected some english mistakes. (You know, french are not so good in English !)

The linux version is up but not well tested, then say if there is something wrong with it.

Note : For those whose are asking about when they should do the combination : You have to wait that the product stopped ,it is when the first light stop flash. If you pressed before that, it doesn't count for the combination ;).
We will add a visual indication for this timming soon to "fix" this this problem.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#284Humor(Jam)3.09
#491Theme(Jam)3.70
#557Audio(Jam)2.90
#823Mood(Jam)2.73
#825Innovation(Jam)2.66
#847Graphics(Jam)2.72
#919Overall(Jam)2.83
#921Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29am

Ha, nice take! The controls were a bit non-responsive at times, pressing too fast caused sequences to be missed. However, good work overall!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31am

Pretty solid gameplay. Then again, I'll be a little biased since we have the similar quick-time-reaction-speed in the game :D so I naturally like it.

Would've liked some visual feedback to know if a sequence has been entered correctly or not while entering it, sometimes I thought I entered a correct sequence and it said it was wrong :(

Loved the sound! Could use a little mor variety in the long run if you plan to expand it post-jam.

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59am

Dude why didn't you select the music option? I was jamming out to that tune. The only bad part about the music was it failed to loop :| Anyway, great job. Nice to see some more SFML and less U n i t y

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Nice idea. The switching of the colors and left and right is really confusing at times, but I suppose that's where the challenge comes from :)

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08pm

A solid game. The pacing took a while to figure out, but once I had that it became a little too easy. Maybe if the speed ramped up gradually that would help with things. I wish there was a little bar that showed how much time I had left in each chamber as that was the trickiest part to figure out. My favorite part of this game were the different object graphics that entered and left the conveyor belt!

2011petia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40pm

NIce Job :D

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Can't play windows games. D'oh!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Difficult game, but still a cool concept. I liked the background music.

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Sound stopped after a while...
Combinations were missed randomly? maybe pressed too fast

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

I liked it! Simple enough to digest, but difficult to master. I like seeing the transformation of the outputs. If there was some visual feedback to tell the player how long they have to input the button combos, that would be helpful. Great work!

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Sometimes I felt that I missed a sequence but I did not lose a live, either I'm a pro or something was wrong. Fun idea however!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21pm

At first the game was rather confusing. I did wrong combinations all the time for some reason. After awhile it somehow sorted out by itself.
Funny game concept, chicken changed to cfk :>

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40pm

If only working in a factory was that much fun! Also I really liked the music.

StMatn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Nice game!
Gets a bit repetitive after some time, but the graphics look quite nice ;)

Meta-link says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Really cool game !
I totally loved transform thing into other things :D
Good job !

anv says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Pretty good concept with easy to grasp, hard to master gameplay. Catchy tune and tidy graphics. I felt like sometimes window for inputs was shifted in time to what I saw on the screeen.

davidB says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Nice audio, and tutorial.
2 button controls including into tuto and menu : 5 stars.

Sometimes I failed I know why, but sometimes I don't understand why.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]