Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Comfort Owl

by Norbez - Jam Entry

You have a Caring Owl Plant, and choose how to take care of it daily. Made with Twine.

This was inspired by the game Crazy Plant Shop, in which certain plants have the faces of animals (cacti have cat faces, bunions have bunny faces, etc.), and the fact that people need to hear that someone cares. Plus, I really like owls. I hope you do, too!

I incorporated the "growing" theme with the growing of the plant, and you could argue that the "two button controls" theme is there because there are only two choices on the screen at one time? Would that count?

There was a lot I wanted to do in this game that got scrapped because of time--I had no time during the weekend, so this was made in the last four hours in Ludum Dare. I'm honestly not sure if it's any good, and it's probably not for everyone, but it's a game I needed to make, and I hope it can help someone.
I look forward to your comments. Thank you for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2373Coolness10%

Comments

pixzleone says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Nice little game :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Isn't an owl friend what we all need? Kind of simply written, but it's a great concept and a good story. Nice fit with both themes without feeling forced. Plus cute art and a suitable colour scheme.

SPOILER



I like how both endings were very happy. I mean, there's much to be said for tragedy, but let's face it, sometimes we just need an undiluted sweet story to keep going.

garygreen says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Nice idea & a sweet game. :-)

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:08pm

This is so cute ^_^

kabel says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:59pm

I was waiting for something strange or unlikely to happen. ..or something that tells that the owl was only a clever metaphor for something....next time, maybe.

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Well, this is delightful. I stumbled onto it randomly, and while I was playing it I remembered that I also played and enjoyed your "HCF" game from Twiny Jam. Quite a contrast in tones between HCF and this, which really demonstrates your versatility as a writer. In both cases, I really like the way you end your stories with explicit questions that prompt the player to consider or imagine additional details on their own.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:43pm

This is a great game. I love it.

Omiya Games says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:25am

Both the grief and optimism expressed in the game are strong. The 4 hour rush shows, though, in this game's simple story. The writing felt unreactive to the players decision, making the ending unsatisfying.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]