Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Zombridge

by danthedev - Jam Entry

[Embedded player needs to be fullscreen!]

Play as a morally ambiguous bridge controller in a world where humans flee from an oncoming horde of zombies.

It's your responsibility to make sure the bridge stays up for humans and down for zombies. Unfortunately it's never as straightforward as it sounds and casualties are inevitable.

Among the chaos you'll find nearly twenty types of humans, including six rare characters and 12 items that will drastically change the game as you play.

Operating the bridges effectively takes coordination, multi-tasking and quick thinking. The game also can also be played by two players, each controlling and watching one bridge.

- Dan and Joe

This is not just our first Ludum Dare entry, but the first time we've ever managed to finish developing a game together (after years of trying)! If you have even half as much fun playing it as we had making it, then we consider it a success.

Zombridge was written from scratch, without an engine or a framework, using canvas and ES6. The artwork was created in Inkscape throughout the course of the weekend.

The game was also supposed to include a persistent achievements system and a permanent upgrade shop, but alas, we ran out of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#158Theme(Jam)4.09
#194Humor(Jam)3.34
#230Innovation(Jam)3.53
#295Fun(Jam)3.44
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#520Graphics(Jam)3.45
#662Mood(Jam)3.04
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Bemmu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22am

I like how enjoyable the game is given the simplicity of it. Fun idea having the powerups, but I guess I was hoping there would be a shop I could use to buy something with all the cash I was collecting.

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26am

Haha I enjoyed the difficulty ramp. "Oh this is nice" "Oh jeez ok not as simple as I thought". Good job making a challenging, fun game that was also simple enough for me to pick up real quick! :)

lordsavage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30am

Very clever little game!.
Only one little gripe - If my timing was a little off, the human would get stuck between the bridge and cliff (drove me nuts) - my fault for being too slow I suppose.. again Fun little game!.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00am

Neat idea. :D

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01am

Very addicting, the difficulty ramps up in a good way, not too slow or fast. Found myself playing this longer than I intended to.

grifdail says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04am

Really fun ! Good looking.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09am

Nice entry.Well done !

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10am

Nice take on the theme! At first I thought you could just cheat your way out and hold the two buttons down, but that was just the first level. Clever!

Vosvek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:33am

> morally ambiguous bridge controller
That's an understatement!

A clever and entertaining game, with stylishly simplistic yet awesome graphics. I do wish the upgrade shop was complete, as I feel letting people fall to their deaths had little impact. Nonetheless, I had fun. :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50am

That was pretty funny, I loved that all the fallen characters were persistent. If I had played any longer, I'm pretty sure the bridge would have been redundant :)

Donar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58am

That is actually quite challenging, because multitasking isn't really one of my strength. Funny little idea. You sure put way more work into the graphics than into the code, which is totally fine but for me that lowers the "innovation" rating, which affects the overall score more than the "graphics" (at least for me).

Since it's a Jam entry, my rating is a bit lower as well. You created it from scratch but you had triple the time of compo entries, so I obviously can't measure it on the same scale.

Soron says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Trapping the humans/zombies inside the bridge is amusing. Not sure if it's intended, but it's amusing ;).

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Funny little game, it would be better if you included music, a little tip, use the music generator I've found: http://www.abundant-music.com/

danthedev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Thanks for the tip! I agree, music would really add to this

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Wow, this was a lot more intense than i expected. Well at least I saved a great wizard and a certain jedi master. Like the game, it looks deceptively simple, but it's hard to put down.

danthedev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:38pm

@WizzardMaker Ironically, I'm a far more experienced musician than I am an artist and run a home recording studio, but I'm currently travelling Asia with nothing but a Chromebook. Maybe I'll be back in time for next LD!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:42am

I like how the bodies just pile up and up. Lovely inkscape graphics. Also I love HTML5 games. So easy to run on just about every device ever. Well done.

danthedev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Thanks @retrogradeorbit , the bodies are actually rendered to a different buffer, so that we didn't have to keep redrawing them from memory. I'm also a fan of HTML5 games, mainly because the development cycle is so quick!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:38pm

cool game, clever concept, well done

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:21pm

I really like it that the people have different items. the gameplay is very easy but it dousent get boring because of the diversity in the different characters.
also the game is very polished. the pause funktion and the art. well done!

Mar 28, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Really neat idea! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BZOhspy6Kt8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]