Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

American Excess

by lectric.monk - Jam Entry

Thanks to American Excess, your can grow your debt to be bigger than even your wildest dreams! Let your inner shop-a-holic off the leash and spend even more money that’s not even yours.

Act now! Using only two buttons and your new American Excess Premium Membership Card, you can now buy ALL the things!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#23Humor(Jam)4.19
#97Audio(Jam)3.89
#397Innovation(Jam)3.30
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#401Graphics(Jam)3.66
#408Mood(Jam)3.34
#449Fun(Jam)3.23
#454Theme(Jam)3.74

Comments

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

Nice artworks and sound ! Really nice job, impressive ! Lol the man talking in the intercom was funny. Thanks :)

max_peabody says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

Couldn't get this to run on windows; cursor showed it as loading, but only when I was in the file system itself (alt-tabbing to my browser, for instance, turned it back to the regular mouse cursor).

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Can you beat 300k though? ;)

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21am

Hah! The intro was good, and the look and feel of the game was spot on. It was a little frustrating mashing the keys to try and go the right direction to get more money, but it was a good entry overall!

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

Great game, I loved the graphics work.

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

The background voice... hillarious! Nice theme, but the controls are a bit tricky ;)

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51am

Good job! Cool design! Such a sory>,.. there is no web version ^(

Caspila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38am

Oh my oh my. I think my brain melted after this one. Using the arrow keys to move in different directions than the usual is mind***ing. I'm not going to say I disliked it or the other way around, but I think it was a nice experiment. I'd definitely reduce the colliders size, it's a bit too unforgiving in my opinion.
Good job on the art and game concept!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46am

Love the graphical style of the game and the voiceover, they were very cute. Really interesting mechanic to use the two button theme, and I guess your goal was to grow your debt, so well done on using both themes! If I had one complaint about the game, I guess it would be the lack of variation in gameplay. It would be good to have perhaps a security guard or debtors you have to avoid, or something. Really enjoyed the humour of the game, good job!

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

Very fitting audio, I like how the character expresses my frustration at the controls. Feels like he's drunk with purchasing power.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51am

Movement was a bit hard for me. The art was alright. I feel like there was some witty stuff being said over the intercom, but I wasn't able to pay attention because I was trying to re-roll arrows too hard :|

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53am

I think having a "horizontal" and a "vertical" button would have achieved much the same effect as what you were going for. Still, I work in retail, and every VO I heard had me giggling. Well done all around.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Nice game. I couldn't get it to run on Windows 7 (just a black screen when I start it up. I can hear but can't see) but luckily I had access to a mac.

I thought it was a good satire, making fun of our spending habits. The mechanics were challenging but fun.
I especially liked the background comments during the game, they were pretty funny.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:50am

Cool game. Good idea. I loved the lines that the clerk said on the PA.

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:04am

Yes! So many 5 stars!

I hated that the new random direction seems to be honestly and totally random, which kinda sucked some fun from the gameplay. Kept mashing on left to get another left while going left or right.

But aside from that: Yes! So many 5 stars!

aeveis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:13am

Funny and nice audio! Controls were a bit hard, but bouncing of of things helped a lot.

tweedle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:06am

Really funny, nice work!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14am

Hilarious game. Great music. Art work is nice and vibrant.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:20am

It was funny listening to the guy on the intercom, the controls were a little bit frustrating. Good game though! =D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:30am

Really well done graphics and sound, and the game is pretty good too, once you wrap your head around it.

Logicon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:32am

I really like the music and art for the game, but the controls made it almost unplayable. you could have used some sort of non random to make it easier, like left arrow key could only be down or left and right arrow key could only be up or right.
You could also have put in some checks to ensure you didn't roll and get the same direction twice, or couldn't have the same direction stored on both buttons.

teeth says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:25am

The advertisement at the beginning was fabulous

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:02am

this game is really well done

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:00am

I love the story and the humor. The graphics are pretty neat too. I wasn't a big fan of the button changing directions - it got super confusing, but I guess that's part of the game play!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:59am

Excellent game. Loved the voice over the intercom and while the controls took a bit to get used to I eventually got the grasp of things.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:43am

The feeling this game gave me was very similar to the one I get when Tetris just won't give me that 1x4 block because I really, really need it. Getting stuck with the right arrow on both buttons for 3+ button presses is frustrating as hell.

Regardless, cute game, great humor, simple yet effective use of both themes (: A few odd spots where the character was getting stuck on air and turning around when hitting nothing, but bugs are too be expected. Overall nice job (:

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:49am

Excellent game. Loved the voice over the intercom and while the controls took a bit to get used to I eventually got the grasp of things.

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:58am

Funny, but not really fun. The random changing of the directions mean that I end up really doing nothing but bashing a button until my guy turns in the way I want him to. *maybe* I can use the second one to "store" a direction I want, but that's so difficult that it's not worth doing against the time pressure.

Top notch presentation. Unless that's all boilerplate copy pasted from before, I would have much rather seen you guys spend the time on working out a more interesting game design.

But really top notch presentation. The announcer is hilarious :)

Robber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Very cool concept, great graphics and the in store voice is just hilarious. The idea for the changing direction didn't work so well for me, as you constantly need to look away from the character to see how the direction has changed, maybe they should be 'in game', move along with the character or something..nice one!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:29am

Great audio, especially that intro song.I love the concept and art as well. I did struggle with the controls a bit though. I think it might have been enough to stick with the "Growth" theme, as it is a particularly unique and thoughtful implementation of that theme.

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:39am

The intercom guy should have had more lines.

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:57pm

awesome overall!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:23am

That was a great entry. It felt like the collision was a bit off (or unforgiving), which made it harder and made me get stuck a few times, but very fun to play and hear the announcer.

n8m8 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:10pm

I wrote some mini-reviews for mini ludumdare games! https://goo.gl/l4dkaT
I enjoyed your game immensely! It was hilarious! Looking forward to more in the future!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]