Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Trumpie Town

by Jebby - Jam Entry

The year is 2020. Trump and his zombie henchmen have taken over and it is up to you to rebuild and take back what is yours.

Was made for Ludum Dare 34, theme being grown and 2 button controls

Hold left mouse button to move.

Click left mouse button on certain objects to upgrade,build,or plant.

Click right mouse button to attack.

Goal, earn 500 dollars and defeat the boss.

All art was done by me in Aseprite and all coding was done by me in Game Maker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#115Humor(Jam)3.64
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#390Overall(Jam)3.44
#439Graphics(Jam)3.60
#553Mood(Jam)3.17
#566Theme(Jam)3.62
#637Innovation(Jam)2.96

Comments

mcr6114 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57am

Really fun and funny game.

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

I really love the art. I wish there was more Trump. Just... lots of Trump, all over the place.

Fun game though!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

Funny and fun. Nice drawing of Trump.

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

I don't like this. I don't know what to say.
I don't get it.

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

With some more time and polish, this would be a really fun game. As is is now, though, it's a great jam game :D

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

Fun game, I liked the resource system, not 100% sure what the house did I thought it would let me regenerate my health.
The text in the corner seemed to fade in and out while I was holding down buttons, but that might just have been a gamemaker issue.

Good game :)

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

Cool game! I like the concept of managing money crops and upgrading the town. Once I got the pistol all bets were off.
Music and sound would really benefit this game, but I don't think it detracted too much from the overall experience.
Nice work!

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

Nice and simple game. I did manage to beat it after losing once. It was fun, although I do wish the melee range was longer. The gun's bullets should also be way bigger! Great work though.

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22am

This made us laugh!
It was really awesome, plus, we think this has future, is a really nice and addicting concept!
Great work!

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57am

This is quite a funny game, didn't expect that face to be the final boss, lol.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Nice and funny, needed maybe a bit more content but well done.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:21pm

"My father gave me a small loan of 1 million dollar" - the one and only.

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Funny little game, I love the mix of fighting and building. The game is easy to beat, too easy in my opinion, if you have the gun you are just unstoppable.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Simple, but kept me interested till the end. I was worried it would become too long with the money farming, but that phase ended very quickly. And the boss was a fun surprise :)

Jan 11, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Neat game, very well made. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/qJFJJ6gq7Ak

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]