Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

City Strike

by PeachTreeOath - Jam Entry

Grow your ultimate city by shooting caravans on crazy routes!

-Click on wanderers to add them to your city.
-Your city will generate goods based on your production sliders, population, and money.
-Surrounding cities will display the good that they need.
-Click and drag the trade goods that pop up around your city to fire off a caravan at a city.
-If a caravan reaches another city with the correct good demand you will gain money based on how long the caravan traveled and multipliers hit.
-Your city will grow based on money earned.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#280Innovation(Jam)3.46
#432Humor(Jam)2.78
#589Audio(Jam)2.78
#681Theme(Jam)3.50
#725Fun(Jam)2.90
#739Graphics(Jam)3.02
#783Overall(Jam)3.02
#807Mood(Jam)2.77

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24am

Great game. was really fun to fire off the caravans. and really sad when I missed and they went flying off into the unknown

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33am

Hahah its so crazy game, congrats for the good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45am

Nice work, love getting the trick shots with the caravan.

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

Haha, I've never played a city builder like this before.
At first I thought I was missing my city with the caravans, then I realized their text had updated to show they were brought in. I'd suggest putting that text on top of the city instead.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31am

Took me a minute, but fun game! It's like caravan slingshot simulator. Great entry!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24am

Like the concept, but your art style is a little bit... Hmm.. weird x)
BUT the gameplay was absolutely good

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44am

Had pleasure from caravan and hiring people. Good work!

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:35am

Shooting the caravans off was fun, but the collision detection seems a little dodgy between them and the trees. They would often hit trees that it looked like they should have passed cleanly by.

Collecting the little people was an interesting mechanic but it seems like it would have felt smoother if they came to my city a faster instead of just meandering over.

kostak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:53am

Good game, would have been nice to have an endless mode

justinooncx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Weird mechanics, and took a bit of getting used to, but otherwise an interesting game!

SoulBound says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:21am

A very fun and relaxing game after I found out what to do. The music is simple but I like it. Well done.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:04am

goog game ;)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:53am

Interesting concept. It would be cool if you could have your workers cut down the trees or something for better shots.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:51am

Nice work. It was a little confusing as to what I was supposed to be doing. I think an in-game tutorial would really help this game out. Nice work!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Caravan billiard anyone? I wonder if i found a bug though. All of sudden my lumber amount would go to 600x very fast. Dont know what happend o.o
Very good game concept and graphics :)

aeveis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:18am

Pretty good! I took a bit to figure out, the firing off caravan was fun. Kind of like building a city + pinball haha. The very slow The End? was a nice touch.

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:37am

very interesting and weird game, quite fun -w-

Shivur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:08am

Good idea!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:11am

Good shot, i really liked it!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Shooting camels is always fun and original, good job!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:58pm

The gameplay is a bit confusing. The building art is pretty good!

rojo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:07am

Definitely a fun way to ship goods! The wanderer spawns were a little difficult to keep up with as the game progressed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]