Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

when i am empty please dispose of me properly

by johntherobot - Jam Entry

First game that I've made. A short visual exploration game. The canvas grows and shrinks as Derek moves between stages. Using a two-button control system, control his movement and some visual effects. Inspired by a quote I saw.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#597Audio(Jam)2.75
#705Innovation(Jam)2.85
#730Humor(Jam)2.22
#828Graphics(Jam)2.77
#942Theme(Jam)2.96
#969Overall(Jam)2.73
#1054Fun(Jam)2.19

Comments

printhello says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 9:35am

Interesting. Like a surrealist painting. :)

Chris M says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 9:38am

Alluring piece, I felt quite hopeless playing. The transitions seem unnecessarily abrupt. The music was meant to be distorted, I presume?

johntherobot says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 9:42am

Thanks! Yes. If I knew more I would have the layout changes preserve acceleration and position or at least put a fade between scenes. Maybe in the morning I'll tweak it some.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Interesting...

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Interesting idea.

gabriel_pnc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21am

cool idea, I like de art and sound, but the game made me a little confused! Keep doind this!

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

That's quite an interesting game. There isn't much gameplay to it, but it's good for a first game, and may many more follow :D

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Awesome!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

This game made me question why I am alive, good game!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

An interesting game, I love the art style and the overall feeling the game gives you.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

very atmospheric. Loved the environment. Only thing is I wanted more :)

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Thanks guys! Yeah, I burned through it really quickly (something like 6 hours) because I'm getting married this upcoming weekend and knew I wouldn't have much more time haha! Maybe I'll add some more screens post-jam.

CMG says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:03am

A strange game. Definitely more an art piece, which isn't a bad thing! I felt like I had no control and just drifted along.

scars377 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44pm

I don't understand what I've just played.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Nice little game, it was definitely interesting to explore :)

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Don't really understand but it's more like a painting or a dream that we go through I guess :) Anyway, well done!

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:46pm

what even is this i can't


i mean it's kind of cool but like.... what???

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Enjoyed the soundscape a lot!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]