Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pocket Person

by zatch - Compo Entry

Pocket Person is a Tamagotchi-style game where you grow adult humans into even larger adult humans. Once they're big enough to survive on their own, they will abandon you and your nurturing care. If you don't take care of these adults, they will die. Think about that.

*** PRO TIP: Comma and period are keyboard shortcuts for the on-screen Start and Select buttons. ***

Pocket Person was developed using Phaser 2.4.4 and RequireJS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#224Humor2.95
#391Theme3.84
#512Innovation3.12
#544Overall3.16
#558Graphics2.96
#579Mood2.82
#847Fun2.52

Comments

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14am

Took me a while to figure out how to navigate the menus with the two buttons. How long does it take to fully grow one?

zatch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

@paraboxx It only takes a couple minutes to grow a fully grown adult person, as long as you keep all of your vitals above 80%. They won't grow if they aren't nourished. ;) It takes much longer to let them die.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Have to agree with paraboxx with the menu navigation. Interesting idea, seemed to take awhile for death, and for them to leave.

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08pm

This is pretty cute. I think a minute or so to grow a person is about right really. :) Pretty unique though!

pparke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Like others have said, the menu navigation is a bit difficult to figure out at first. I liked the bounce animation it made the simple graphics feel like they had a little more depth.

zatch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:55am

Yup, I hate my controls! If I pick this project back up after voting ends, overhauling the controls will be first on my list! Just wanted to say I covered both themes, even if just out of spite for everyone who pushed me into a two-button corner. >:-D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Great Job! Hopefully you've caught the LD bug now. Glad I got to help you out a bit. It definitely brings back memories of having a tamagotchi.

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:25am

Nice clicker game! well done.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Nice game! It would have been interesting with some more challenge keeping the Pocket Person at good health. But I enjoyed the calm mood of it.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Pretty neat game. nice use of the two themes.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]