Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Green Fingers Award

by Zeezgames - Compo Entry

Here is my first solo games jam and first Ludum Dare Game

I went along with the growing theme as i actually wondered how i would make this type of game if i had to and i have learnt alot during the process. I am a Computer Games Programmer at Staffordshire University and have no art experience so majority of my time was spent in paint.net but i will improve my skills and hopefully do a more visually impressive piece next time round :)

The aim of the game is to grow your stock and sell it at the market in order to reach the target £2000 before the time runs out (10 Mins) i put the time aspect on the game as its a quick games jam type game just a bit of fun nothing serious but does require some thinking early in game with your money

i attached all my source code and if anyone has any questions feel free to get in touch with me through www.zeezgames.co.uk

The website is currently being redone so will be sorted in due time but the contact page is all fine :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#272Theme3.97
#287Humor2.79
#347Mood3.16
#352Fun3.32
#372Overall3.37
#410Graphics3.22
#454Audio2.68
#665Innovation2.82

Comments

Jackson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:16pm

I like it. A good progression. Standard but fun upgrading. Great job.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Well made game, had a good time playing it.

togo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:19pm

the goal is easy to achieve, makes me want to keep going past it.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:20pm

It was fun even if i dont like market stuffs

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Good game, would have been nice to have an endless mode

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Good solid game.

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Loved it. Upgrades were fun. I found myself wanting more. :D. Only side note when I changed to plant x3 for whatever reason the sound got really loud.

echa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Nice implementation on farm/incremental game.

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Simple game, but it looks pretty decent and is a nice concept!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Nice game! I'm on OSX, but actually ran the executable through WINE with no problems at all.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33am

Solid idea. Bit easy (I finished with over 5 minutes to spare) but I can totally see this being turned into an awesome mobile game.

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

It's fun and simple. It's a satisfying experience.

BobM says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42pm

a bit too easy, but really fun, wanted to play more when i reached the goal ^^.

More upgrade, fruits etc. would have been very cool !

StMatn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:02am

Nice work!
It was really fun to play, but I don't quite get, why you would want to buy upgrades or plant carrots. Once things were going, I harvested my tomatoes with the harvester and replanted immediately. With >3:30 on the clock I sold 175 tomatoes for >2k and won. I only bought the stall upgrade once and none of the seeds upgrades.
You wrote, that you have no art experience, but I think the gfx look quite decent ;)
I really liked playing your game. Good job!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:12am

Thanks all for the comments :D

Originally i had it where you needed to play for a good few levels to gain experience to grow tomatoes but then though as its a games jam people may lose interest after a couple of minutes so i speeded things up for the jam but for the real game i will make it alot longer process and more challening to reach the goal :D

at uni im surrounded by the art teams who are amazing so my graphics are shocking to them but thanks for your kind words :D

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:14am

Nice compo. I wish you could add some gameplay system to avoid just planting and harvesting (maybe clicking on animals trying to steal your food), because it turns out to be repetitive really quickly. Still good job for a first try, keep pushing

Adam Gould says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Great concept, I could imagine this turning into a really popular mobile game or something. Enjoyed my play through, although it was a little easy to unlock everything, and at that point it had no challenge. Great work though!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:22am

interesting idea! well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]