Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

S.I.L.

by Skruffye - Jam Entry

DESCRIPTION:
S.I.L. is an experimental human-like AI that is given very little chance to interact with other people before it is accidentally released onto countrywide communication networks.

Play as S.I.L. as it attempts to grow and better itself in the only way that it knows how (literally) and slowly discovers what it means to be aware.

INSTRUCTIONS:
The game is entirely controlled with the mouse. The middle mouse button allows you to pan around the network whilst the scroll wheel lets you zoom.
The left mouse button allows you to select devices in the network, select programs to run and select each node on the route that you want your program to travel to its target.
The right mouse button cancels any programs that you have selected so that you don't have to send them.

During the cutscenes, once the text has stopped scrolling, click the screen to continue.

Freeplay mode canonically occurs after the main story. Enjoy!

KNOWN BUGS:
Sometimes Level 3's ending cutscene doesn't play, halting campaign progression. We will fix this as soon as possible.
[STATUS: FIXED]

WebGL version (currently only version) only displays properly in full screen. This bug will most likely not be fixed, so please try to play the game in full screen mode until the downloadable versions become available when we patch the above bug.
[STATUS: KNOWN]

The enemy AI does not seem to be propagating properly. In all likelihood, this bug will not be fixed unless we suddenly find a bunch of spare time.
[STATUS: KNOWN]

(Last updated: 04:33 17/12/15 GMT)

CREDIT & THANKS
Design, art and story by Nathan C. Addison
All programming by Michael Bohea

Thanks to everyone who plays this, we hope you have fun! ^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#5Innovation(Jam)4.32
#73Mood(Jam)3.96
#205Overall(Jam)3.67
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#402Fun(Jam)3.29
#518Graphics(Jam)3.46
#579Humor(Jam)2.55

Comments

adaFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:23am

This was a really cool idea; I enjoyed playing this immensely. Things did move a little slowly, but that wasn't a major deal. I do think I got stuck at one point in the game after I learned the firewall program; I couldn't seem to use any of my programs or select any different nodes. That might have been me/my laptop, though. Still, it's a really interesting game.

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:50am

This game... was so... friggin... TERRIBLE..-ly FUCKING AWESOME. Like sure it was a massive downer that there was little sound, or that I couldn't skip the cutscene after I've seen it, but just this game is SO COOL. I love the aesthetic and would love to see this made into a full fledged game! You should add a tip to play in fullscreen for FULL immersion. Playing this game in fullscreen makes you feel like a hacker and it's just fantastic! The way the console is designed and the UI is just so clean and uncluttered. Beautiful. I imagine a full version would read keyboard input and allow you to give the computer several commands and explore the story even more, which on another note is soo interesting. You guys are awesome.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Definitely enjoyed the mood, the polished interface and the intriguing dialogue. Really interested in the story. It took me a while to grasp how to play the game, I plan on diving into it further, but I enjoyed what I got out of it. Definitely has a potential to have more of a text adventure aspect to it, not sure if it would work though. I'm definitely gonna be keeping an eye on it.

marveus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:17am

I really loved the idea and the concept. I think there is so much potential here, especially with the interesting storytelling you have combined with the compelling game play concept. I hope you keep working on this idea!

Unfortunately, I had a hard time getting the programs to propagate some times. I would be clicking, but unable to get anything to happen. So I basically got stuck unable to progress. But still enjoyed what I got to experience.

Going forward, I think it would be great to make clear how the CPUs, memory, and other aspects of the nodes are important. I wasn't sure why I should select one node or another. This could be handled by a training module that progressively introduces the different concepts of the game.

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:20am

Too much text to read at beginning. After that, still not much gameplay. Hard to understand. Game stopped working after I shoved a worm into something.

aeveis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:32am

Pretty cool! I wanted to play more, but sometimes the controls seemed unresponsive. I would select a program and click somewhere else, and it wouldn't let me select anything else. If I restarted I would have to go through cutscene again. I got up to getting the firewall and trojan. I like it though!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:07am

Interesting concept and mood! Had some issues with the UI not registering programs I've learned but nothing that couldn't be worked around.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:22am

Really neat idea. Reminded me of Uplink a bit. I'll admit that I had some trouble figuring out what was going on but I enjoyed it quite a bit.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Cool game. The controls seemed unresponsive sometimes. This might be easily fixed with some sound effects.

korvyashka says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Cant understand controls. Choose my SIL, click program and windows just closing, again SIL, again programs - again windows closing. What i am doing wrong?

korvyashka says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:40am

At last I understood controls in campaign mode :)
Idea is incredibly great. Understanding of web around you through trojan-like programs is cool - I would certainly play it not in terms of jam.
There are few bugs with controls, that I met through playing, but they are not critical.

SnedHlepPls says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I really like the concept of this game- the art direction certainly reinforces the idea! The narrative so far is good, and adds a lot to the game. In terms of things to improve on, possibly a decription of some of the executables/scripts as while you can infer their purposes from the cutscenes, it is sometimes not abundantly clear. Sound would have also added to the experience.

In any case, well done! I think this would be an interesting concept for you to take further after the Ludum Dare!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:36am

This game really shows how much people can create in 3 days, it's really incredible! It's an interesting concept which the art and ui reinforces very well. The mood is perfect. I would've liked some more feedback to show my programs at work i.e. a device lighting up whilst a program is processing

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]