Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sentient Sewage

by blakeohare - Compo Entry

You are a vat of semi-sludgey water in the local water treatment facility that has gained consciousness. Deflect the chlorine bricks being thrown in so that you can continue to grow and eventually spill over the edge and escape.

Theme used: Growing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Innovation3.93
#150Humor3.23
#315Graphics3.41
#320Overall3.44
#380Fun3.29
#625Theme3.55
#2253Coolness17%

Comments

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:04am

In the higher difficulties, it's a bit hard to tell whats watery pseudopod and what's vulnerable water surface. Since you don't want to hit the chlorine with the central panel, this makes aiming a bit difficult. Having a stronger indication of safe zones would have been useful.

nexust says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:51pm

This game is challenging and entertaining! I have to admit, the game didn't run so smoothly on a dying laptop but, even with a lower than ideal frame-rate (which was no fault of the game's) I found it enjoyable! Also, the 'How to play' made me smile.

veverichka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Made it to insane! Had a lot of fun playing it. Also the water looks amazing and Crazy-Hair Carl is just adorable. :D

AlexLamarche says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:04am

Awesome! Very innovative. Cool little mini game

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18am

The water is very cool. The game is incredibly fun and really innovative.

ryandali says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19am

Unique mechanic, camera angle shows the water movement very well but makes it tough to tell where to click to knock the balls out.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

Love the idea. The backstory was also a wonderful touch. I felt like the difficulty jumped a lot from medium to hard. I didn't have the patience to finish hard, so I can only imagine Insane. Maybe have the shadow of the tablet adjust based on its distance from the water - would help aiming for the player maybe. Some sound would go a long way too. Great entry.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27am

The water looks amazing! The game is fun to play and different. Update and allow us to unlock gloves for Carl, this is a game breaking bug!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17am

I like the liquid interactivity and motion :) the game itself is quite simple and should have been polished with sounds and so on but was never the less still quite fun, and I love the interpretation of the theme :D

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39am

Very cool little game!

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Really nice and innovative.

Rys0n says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

I really, really liked this. Good job man :)

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

Nice! Very original execution of the theme.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55am

i cant beat the hard XD

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

Awesome entry. I couldn't get very far as the difficulty was pretty up there, but it was fun to play never the less. Really nice graphics too.

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17am

I love pools! xD Nice game bro!

Phobos001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19am

Very well designed game! The delay after clicking on a water tile stops spamming, and the harder difficulties required me to come up with new tactics to deal with multiple chlorine balls at once. I also enjoyed the tutorial for its sense of humor. Gr8 m8 8 outa 8

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44am

Awesome!! And you built this all in your own programming language? Rad!

minism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

Unique concept, kind of feels like juggling multiballs in pinball. Love the isometric graphics. Nice job :)

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

Awesome idea! The gameplay is fast-paced and addictive. Graphics are pleasing to look at and dammit Carl will get his Foosball table if it's the last thing I am tangentially responsible for

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Good mechanic! Greate model! Thanks and good luck!

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11am

Seemed more like a tech demo than a full-fledged game

WolfkingW says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33am

I can tell a lot of love was put into the water itself, but I wish that same love was reflected on to the worker himself. Other than that, I found the game really fun, and enjoyed the challenge. Good job!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Nice mini game you have there! =D

AriaMK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17am

What a clever idea. I like it!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44am

Fun, innovative game, and nice graphics to boot! Well done!

ninjascript says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44am

Neat concept!

flwns says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:18am

Intro made me chuckle, gameplay was neat. Good stuff overall.

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

Nice! And I love the guys face ^^

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35am

A really good game, loved it a lot :)

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Very nice graphics. The gameplay is very original and I had a lot of fun to play it. A little bit difficult maybe. Good job!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13pm

I'm very curious : how did you get this strange idea? That's very fun and well made. Good job!

Dreyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35pm

This is definitely a nice interpretation of the theme! Simple to understand, quite satisfying when you win.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Interesting idea.
I enjoyed watching the geometry of water :D
Good job.

Cheers,
Morco (tyrants.not.found team)

mard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Great game! Amazing looking water, the gameplay is simple but fun. Kinda sad there's no sound, but you can't do everything in 48h

DeltaNegative says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Love the look of the water :D

deadpixl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Great entry! I really like the art style of the pool. I didn't feel the character matched the pool style. Overall a very fun game.

LeafThief says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Good game. The intro was very well structured and funny but it wasn't until I played the game until I understood how it worked. The mechanics work super good!

Dianouille says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18pm

I had a lot of fun playing your game ! Good job !

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:19pm

The water effect is awesome! The game is also pretty fun. Damn that Carl guy though, I just want to SLUDGE EVERYWHERE >:(

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Funny Intro, great idea..some audio would be cool :)

argowen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

little confusing at first as I didn't read the instructions, still one easy mode without it. Anyway read instruction which was funny. Overall I found the concept and play quite fun.

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Interesting mechanics, took me a bit to understand what I was doing, but when I did it was quite fun. Awesome! (Sometimes it's quite hard to predict where the ball is going)

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Well, I think other people already say it all. Really great idea and beautiful water!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Nice little game. It was hard to judge the chlorine sometimes though.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47pm

An interesting game! Nice graphics but a bit hard to understand the mechanics of the game. Overall very pleased =)

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Great water effects and a novel idea. I love the writing, it's hilarious.
My only complaint is the difficulty spike from medium to hard. While I had no problems on medium I failed at hard :(

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Original theme! Very innovative too. Good job!

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Super cool idea! I loved the water physics!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51pm

The water behaviour is amazing, great work!!
The art of the throwing guy could use some work.

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

The idea is really good, the water growing. It hasn't really any sense but is really funny to play. God job team!! Loved playing it :-D

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Nice implementation and idea! A little bit easy but you can improve balance

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Woah, really creative, awesome little game! Loved the intro, very surreal and fun idea.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Really well done! the game is very nicely made, and it was fun to play!

endel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Really liked the water effect. It can be really hard to guess where the balls are going to fall on hard level.

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Lack of sound is disturbing, but I'm very impressed by your idea.

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Wow, really great job on the mechanics and design. It's very original. I also liked low poly water for once because of the great animation!

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:03pm

I like the innovation showed here. I don't think I've ever played as sewer water before, and it was fun to reject those chlorine pellets. Nice game :)

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

INNOVATIVE :D

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Well done with this game i like how its done and makes me wonder on some things how you implemented them :)

Well Done!!

markusfisch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Very nice gameplay and definitely something different. Never played water before :) And I like the humor! Very good!

adamyounis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:00am

This game has such an interesting mechanic. It's really fun to "reject" the chlorine bricks but not with the central panel. I developed a pretty viable technique of aiming just in front of where it will land so it continues in the direction it's already going. What was really cool is that it became easier to gauge as I played.

I enjoyed this, though the production values were a bit simple, still a fun experience.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

cool use of physics, very fun to play, good job :)

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:24am

Nice concept! Really challenging. The effect of the water is really fun.

lkpridgeon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:06am

Needs a little balancing of the overall difficulty curve however nice concept.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:28pm

The water effects and the physics looked cool, plus I liked how it got challenging nearer the end. Quite enjoyed it. :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:10am

Interesting concept, however, huge difference between medium and high difficulties... But, still a good entry. :)

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:56pm

It is an original idea for a game, and pretty humorous too. I really like the look/feel of the water. Add a few more game-play mechanics, and you may have something really cool here.

domo_demo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:59pm

a little bit difficult, but wow, really nice water effect:)

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:08am

Seemed like you needed to click quite a bit and could do with some more mechanics, but a cool idea

Split82 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Pretty nice little game. Good job.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:14am

Easy I found to be a little boring, but once I got into medium and hard it became much more engaging. Sometimes the physics are a little strange for how the pellets bounce off of you, but it doesn't take away from the experience. Cool game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:59am

this was neat - i really was not expecting that to be fun - i like the effect for the sludge and it was a unique mechanic - well done

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:35am

Nice entry. I like the different challenge levels. I does get noticeably harder. :)

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Tough, but fun. Played the web version, the Hard difficulty should be Insane. Only that isometric camera :(

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:27am

Impressive implementation of a unique concept, with some hilarious writing thrown in as a bonus. One of my favorite entries so far!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]