Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Choices

by thirteenthspiral - Compo Entry

Name:
Choices

Theme:
Two Buttons

Controls:
In this game, you play with only the right arrow key, to move forward, and the space bar, to jump. In each room, you are presented with a choice, and you select that choice by jumping into a hole. If you miss your hole, you can go to the end of the room to be teleported back to the front.

Plot:
You play as Phil, an average man, who now has to save a princess. Randomness ensues. Brief Warning: This game is not supposed to be serious :P

Tools:
Art - Game Maker Studio & Priskel
Music - BFXR
Game Maker Studio

Fonts used:
Visitor TT1 BRK

Special Thanks:
Shaun Spalding for his tutorials on Youtube.
My friend Zuka for convincing me to do this and to get into game development in general. I don't know his name on here unfortunately.

Side Note:
Thank you all for playing this! Also, I'm sorry for the lack of OS support, my Game Maker Professional license hasn't been working properly! This is my first game ever, so please don't expect too much from this. Please feel free to judge me as harshly as possible :P If this game is utter garbage, please tell me so.

Plans for the future:
More branches and endings.
Better Graphics xD

Thanks,
ThirteenthSpiral

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#10Humor4.13
#365Mood3.13
#430Overall3.30
#501Fun3.13
#610Theme3.57
#629Innovation2.90
#639Audio2.18
#829Graphics2.30

Comments

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:05am

Awesome game! This game like little Stanle Parable, i like it. Very well bro!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

Good idea to play on the visual novel genre. Could make use of branching to open up some possibilities (right now I can only guess the right path), and we couls move left/right when making choices. Liked the humour, which is really good in this type of game.

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17am

That was funny.I never felt like I didn't even have a choice lol.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

Haha, my favorite yes / no game I've seen so far. My only qualm is the inability to move left.. kinda caught me off guard a few choices in. Good work ! 'v'

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20am

Cool narrative game. It reminded me of the old Goosebumps choose your own adventure books. I had to see all the endings!

siege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

Fun little choose your own adventure story

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25am

The humour was very good in this game, well done :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Really good for your first game. I found it quite funny. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/aHYNcWsg9Wg

Frank_Hiroma says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Really cool concept, congrats!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Amusing writing, it made me smile. :)

"You're just another Phil!"

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44am

I really liked the different outcomes and the whole format was pretty unique for a decision-driven game. Well done!

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:18am

I love it ! It's funny and very close to the theme :D
Too bad it's a little too short

juaxix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Thanks for trying my game, whats the error please?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:53am

Rather than having to restart the whole game moving back a couple of choices would be better.

srakowski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09am

Absolutely fantastic choose your own adventure game. I really enjoyed the writing. Well done :)

juaxix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17am

Hey, the error in mygame is fuxed if you install the Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable Package (64bits)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:45am

Nice use of choices. Instead of pressing buttons like everyone else you made it interactive.

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:49am

A true nerd never complains! =) hehhehe

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:34am

Got all the endings, fun humor. Good effort, keeping making more games!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:29am

Good job with this! Had some laughs from it. :D

NuSan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:44am

Awsome story, a lot of surprise. I think I tried every option just to see the game over message. Keep up the good work

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Well, the audiovisuals aren't stunning and the idea isn't super-fresh; it's pretty much a text adventure with unorthodox controls, after all. However, I rather liked exploring different options. I found a multitude of 2 good endings, many bad endings and one false bad ending (i.e. the one where you watch TV with orcs; how can that be a bad thing?!). Humor is strong with this one.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]