Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sector5-0

by KZdev - Jam Entry

In this game you play as a sector patrol officer, aka a space cop, tasked with eliminating space piracy. Blast your way through 13 challenging levels while collecting space donuts and keeping an eye on your weapon's charge. Gradually increase the size and stats of your ship as you progress through the game. Play for a high score in the endless post-game survival mode. The controls may be simple, but how long can you survive? This is my first game jam and the first game I've ever actually finished and released so I am quite happy with the results even if it's not exactly genre-redefining.

EDIT: I removed the web version because it just wasn't working right. If I get it working I'll repost it. Sorry about that!

ALSO: A note about the music. I found a program called cgMusic, which generated a MIDI score that I processed in FLStudio. I tried quite a few music generation programs and they were mostly kinda bad, but right before I gave up searching I came across this one and it's pretty good. Thought I'd give it a mention, could be useful for someone in the next jam :) Link: http://codeminion.com/blogs/maciek/2008/05/cgmusic-computers-create-music/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#457Audio(Jam)3.13
#629Fun(Jam)3.02
#717Humor(Jam)2.26
#775Mood(Jam)2.85
#806Graphics(Jam)2.85
#851Overall(Jam)2.94
#882Innovation(Jam)2.54
#892Theme(Jam)3.11

Comments

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

Neat little shooter. The way the mouse is used for controls is interesting. Good music too!

squarebridges says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29am

Hey. The frame rate was really low on Chrome, making this pretty much unplayable for me.

Baknik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Loved it! Once I figured out you can hold each button the controls became much nicer to use.

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

@squarebridges: Sorry you couldn't play it, I know the web port wasn't great. Try the .exe if you can!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39am

Great entry! I wish it had picked up a bit faster, and that it was easier to maintain weapon charge. Perhaps some sort of mechanic that allows you to exchange being stationary, or shields? Either way, I enjoyed playing it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13am

Good shooter game :) with cool music i like it

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18am

Nice little space shooter! Good work. :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24am

Good game. I got to 200. Might have downed the carrier if I hadn't run out of charge. Got a bit annoying that I couldn't move and shoot in different directions, but I'm guessing if you'd meant to make a twin-stick shooter, you would have :).

colinator27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:02pm

This game is awesome. My best is 157, and then I died. The graphics are nice, and I don't really get the donuts. ;)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:18am

This is a nice little shooter. I liked it!

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

Good game,i liked a lot :D

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:45am

TECHNICALLY you used two buttons, but mouse movement for aim? That's like infinite buttons on two axis! loll but joking around aside, is a decent game for what it is.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:56am

Cool stuff. That cgMusic thing looks interesting, and it worked pretty well here.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:52am

Fun game - enjoyed being a space cop. The controls felt good - but those space pirated are too damn fast!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:38am

A simple but well implemented shooter, it runs very smoothly on my machine. It is kind of hard to dodge the bullets though since the shooting direction and the moving direction is the same. So always ended up moving towards the enemies, I guess that was by design to make the game challenging :P Anyways well done!

shrapx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:52pm

nice intro music! i appreciate that you made a font, also the star field looks like it doesnt repeat, i got a high score of 592 so i was just under the 600 goal D: nice work

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:45am

Funny shooter. Nice graphic and music.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:36am

Neat! Really fun little game. Definitely will look in to cgMusic - that was solid stuff. Awesome work on your first entry!

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:37am

I got a score of 186. good job, liked the faster firing rate later in the game, good change-up to the gameplay.

Henez says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:57am

I ran out of charges pretty fast which slowed the game way down for me. Other then that it's a well implemented shooter. The music and sounds were nice. Well done.

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:14am

The controls feel a little odd just because I'm used to games like Geometry Wars where you use one button to move and regardless of what direction you're moving you can shoot in 360 degrees. I recommend adding some different types of enemies that challenge your controls. For example, you could have enemies that fly away from you and you have to chase them. For the current enemies, the only strategy I have is to run away, pause, and then have a Mexican standoff with them.

Other than that, great game!

architect404 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:03pm

mmmm... space donuts... fun little game, a little frustrating you can only shoot in the direction you are moving, limits tactics a lot. high score was only 202, I am a terrible space cop!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Cool game, enjoyed it.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:07am

Controls made it very difficult to dodge fire, as I could never shoot enemies while moving unless they happened to be heading at me from where I was going. As a result, I just stood still whenever an enemy was around so I could easily take them down.

The charge system was interesting, but was also the largest source of difficulty, as I didn't seem to lose shield too fast very often unless I didn't have the charge to defend myself.

Overall, this was a nice game for a first jam and I enjoyed it. Great job!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:11pm

It starts off really easy and really slow, and quickly devolves into overwhelming right about the time the player receives the fire rate increase, which greatly punishes missed shots against enemies that are really good at dodging.

Good execution though, mechanics were solid if difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]