Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GMO Overgrowth

by Gyfis - Jam Entry

GMO Overgrowth is 2D third person shooter set in a world of overgrown vegetable. You play as a scientist trying to survive for as long as possible by killing monster veggies, collecting coins and upgrading weapons. Try it out!

Controls:
- the scientist follows the cursor
- LMB: shoot
- RMB: dash (be careful)

Features:
- procedurally generated levels
- weapon upgrades
- fun

Sound: made with bfxr.com

Music: "Exit the Premises" by Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Authors:
- Petr Bělohlávek (dev)
- Vojtěch Černý (dev)
- Tomáš Hromada (dev)
- Eliška Heřmanská (graphics)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#263Humor(Jam)3.16
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#743Overall(Jam)3.07
#822Mood(Jam)2.74
#857Graphics(Jam)2.69
#937Theme(Jam)2.98
#960Innovation(Jam)2.34

Comments

mxjones says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Pretty cool! Had fun playing and really like the vegetable designs. Nice one!

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15am

Just gonna put this out there, but the art is... a little... nsfw?

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16am

Like this pretty simple design! The concept is great too! :D

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19am

Love the music!

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28am

like the music :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32am

Fun game. Considering kids might play this some language concerns. Needs some goals.

Tetha says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47am

Yeah, Auto-Shotgun, haha :) And then I dashed into a wall and died xP. Awesome fun.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48am

Nice job!

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04am

heh, funny game. Runs very smooth and I like the weapon progression. WEll done

StaNov says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

I loved the graphics! The tutorial was funny, controls good. The next level I found bit boring. I would also appreciate graphical representation of coin-progress and HP.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Does anyone else think the player looks like Duncan from The Yogscast ? Great game by the way!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Very fun, crazy vegtables, expansive maps.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10am

Really creative idea!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:13am

Fun game! I think some of the graphics could be polished a little.

niccholaspage says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:30am

Good work! Music is pretty sweet and the whole feel of the game is pretty cool, the controls are a bit sketchy but when you're limited to two buttons it's fair enough.

Awesome game!

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:24pm

:) nice game, was that Nicolas Cage in some chests?

Dejvo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:53pm

nice expierience, but, i think, that with unity, three devs and one graphics man, you could've polished it a little better. anyway, i liked the rewards for my cionige.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:50pm

@Dejvo: Thanks for the comment! Because of other matters, we weren't able to work on the game for the full three days, and the rest of the devs didn't even see Unity before the start, so it's a great accomplishment for us - though you are totally right, that the game could be polished more! Hopefully the next time we'll figure out the timing better! Take care, Tomas

carlsommer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I liked the levels and upgrades.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Nicolas Cage is in this game 10 out of 10

Zener says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:14am

This was fun!! I love the music and the minimap. Chests with Cage was hilarious.

jachepe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:20pm

I love the graphics, specially the vegetable designs. Cool game!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Great fun :) I didn't find much use for the dash though.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Fun shooter game - was a bit bored until I got the shooting upgrade, then I made salad all day. Could stand with a few scarier plants. (cacti?)

ursagames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:25am

Fun game! Would have been nice for there to be an "end" of the game- unless that comes after level 8? If so, there wasn't any indication that there was anything more to do after getting $200/inf. Cute character though, he reminded me of Dr Horrible.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Im on 32 bit windows and webGL crashes so I couldn play your game sorry.

erdiizgi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:44pm

I like the smooth gameplay. Procedural World generation is great. I hope you will win :D

Gyfis says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:06pm

@Mantlair - sorry, there's only so much space for the sources here on LD. We do provide a 32-bit version of our game for Windows, but thanks for letting us know it's hard to be found! Here's the link, following the nomenclature of the rest of our urls: https://github.com/randomgamers/GMOOvergrowth/releases/download/v1.0/Windows32.zip

Tommislav says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Nicely done. I had some problems with the fact that I had to aim and walk in the same direction, usually towards an enemy that was shooting at me. But a solid entry. The mini-map helped a lot.

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Really fun game.

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:39pm

I like how the corncobs shoots corn at you!

It's cool that you had time to add some polished features (generation, upgrades, a map, etc) - the extra time you spent on them significantly improves the game.

Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]