Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fluffy Horde

by publicidadeba - Jam Entry


Hello,

those assets are from the new version of the game.
You can find more about us here
http://www.fluffyhorde.com/
___________________________STORY___________________________


Defend your awesome castle from endless hordes of bloodthirsty...ummm... bunnies?


_________________________INSTRUCTIONS_____________________


Farmers are created by the top button over the house (25 Gold)
Soldiers are created on the button over the castle door (50 Gold)


_________________________CONTROLS________________________


A and D to pan the camera or Left and Right Arrow
Select the Soldier with LEFT CLICK and move him with RIGHT CLICK


_________________________HOW TO LOSE____________________


If there are more than 250 Enemies alive
If you can't pay your soldiers their monthly salary for 3 months
(They get paid 25 gold per month ) for each soldier.


_________________________HOW TO WIN____________________


Kill all the enemies.


_________________________CREDITS_________________________

Artist:
Sarah Duffield-Harding (Tinystuffz)

Programmer:
Bashar Saade

Game Designer and Producer:
Ernani Rocha

Actor:
Will Bond

Composer (Music and Sound Effects):
Glauber Barreto (Mach9 Audio)

Dialogue:
Kostas Skiftas

Part of the team is also making Turtles of Destiny
https://twitter.com/TurtlesDestiny

Want me to play your game?
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1E4wOSikfsk-TkjcBy1x7yd--zO47Galejf275bJHAvw/viewform?usp=send_form


Submission hour Bug logs:
-Fixed camera bounds not active.
-Fixed Guide text not being added on Awake
-Fixed tutorial loading level on the wrong time
-Fixed some of the canvas scaling on EndScene, and on the game scene
-Fixed IntroScene Audio Source
Post Submission hour Bug logs:
-Fixed scene loading order (starts on the start scene instead of the story scene)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Humor(Jam)4.08
#65Audio(Jam)4.01
#106Overall(Jam)3.85
#146Graphics(Jam)4.14
#170Mood(Jam)3.69
#190Fun(Jam)3.59
#213Innovation(Jam)3.56
#645Theme(Jam)3.55

Comments

basher207 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08am

Hey guys, Bashar Saada the programmer of Fluffy horde here
So we we’ve been awake since 4 am yesterday, 3 red bulls, 2 coffees, 3 cups of tea later. Story mode and see some of the amazing art of #Tinystuffz, and Will bonds amazing Voice acting,
Its a shame that a ton of assets were unused :/ I think overall, Ernani (The game designer) Was frankly too good for his own good, he got us too many epic people to give us amazing assets for my tired brain to handle programming into the game in this limited amount of time :(
Anyways still turned out alright imo, but a lot of the story assets are missing, too many for me to be able sleep easy at night (Might be the caffeine :S).if I find time, maybe some day soon ill get to add all of them missing assets, and upload it somewhere, because it is a shame :/

Check out: Most of us (TinyStuffz, Ernani, me and Will) are part of the turtle clan: V
https://www.facebook.com/TurtlesOfDestiny
#ShamlessAdvertising

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13am

Nice entry! Great sound and graphics. I haven't seen any bunny counter in the game mode. That could be useful. Funny to discover the rules when you lose :-)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20am

Thank you :D You can create soldier :) On the castle

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Cool graphics and sound!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Incredible voice acting! Loved it!

Rest of the game could have done with some audio focus. I also found it a bit difficult, and some UI scaling issues were present (windowed at 1080*800). Otherwise, Awesome work guys!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51pm

One of my favourites! Please continue on this after the jam. :D The story and voices were great, as was the art.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Love the beginning of the game, the story was great and funny. Also I love the art work and sounds that went into the game. Great entry!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Strange but funny game.

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Loved the graphics! Did not get the controls straight away but once I knew how to control the soldiers at was pretty cool.

kezhaar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Love the voices of the intro :D did not expect that.

anv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Hilarious and well done! Very complex concept for a game jam, and yet, great execution. Intro alone makes it my instant favourite.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Very fun but it's hard to maintain the bunny population. I love the voice acting though!

tweedle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12am

Hilarious voice acting!
Gameplay and vision are excellent here. Building up my forces and economy feels really good.
Would be neat if there was a way to add other defenses, like a moat or archer towers, but that probably would have been tough to add with the allotted time.
Great entry!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

Super fun concept, really good job !
It's sad we just see bunny and soldier, this game deserve to have more funny stuff :D

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:35am

this is amazing and mindblowing!
every aspect executed very well, love it!
instantly one of the best game i played on LD34

bakudas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:42am

Very cool game with a great art indeed! Very funny and i really loved the narrative

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Incredibly neat well done!

I laughed so hard at the intro with the voices, this was soooo cool and well acted, congratulations!!!

The gameplay makes me think a lot of the recent game named Kingdom, nice graphics and well done!

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Funny, nice graphics and good music. So overall very good!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:50pm

oh man! voice of evil is so cool)) great design and mechanics. so good) I played it three times. my best resultat is 1002. I laughed when I saw history of game)) cool game!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:36am

Voice acting are awesome :D The narrative part is very cool, the game remind me "Kingdom", I enjoyed this game! Good job!

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:39am

This was great. The whole thing was really well put together, and the voice acting was well done. Solid entry, good job!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:28am

There wasn't much in terms of both themes but this was pretty fun to play and I absolutely loved the intro (especially the voice acting).

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:20am

It was a lot of fun, I really like this game! The graphics and music are good; I think that there should be some way of seeing how much money you're generating, and how many bunnies there are. I couldn't make it past 1004 >__<

flukeshot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:40pm

In all aspects it is good :) As you replay the game the farmer takes a bit to get going.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:50pm

I love the story and voice!!! also the art is awesome! I guess you could add some excitement in the gameplay, which may add more fun to the overall management

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Cool graphics!

ragnta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Good game!

lawendt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Great!

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Cool game. I can tell a lot of effort and hard work went into this one. The game is super solid, as well as the story, which is pretty funny too.

The main issue I had though, is that I didn't know why I lost when I did. Some type of indication of progress or of the minimum requirements to survive would go a long way to make the game a bit more clear. Besides that, I think the UI is great, the graphics and gameplay too.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:43am

Great entry. I loved the voice acting art and gameplay. The the text was blocking the controls and says right click instead of left click. aside from some small bugs this blew my expectations and is something of quality I hope to create in the future. Cheers, one of my favorite games as of yet.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:48am

Monthy Python - The game, pretty much. Was awesome and funny :D

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:49am

Loved the story, the voice over was GREAT!!!

Also loved slaughtering all the bunnies..! :D

Mechanics we cool, took a few tries but I was starting to get a strategy developed...

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Voice acting is great!

Finestep says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Excellent game.

It takes a bit too long to start up and feels like you lose mid-way; bunny limit seems a bit low and it's easy to lose the game by trying to optimize your spending.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:08pm

"Most evil spell ever". A bunnies invation. 7.8/10 too much bunny

hiki911 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:17pm

nice game, but require some polishing

Eingya says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:42am

It confuses a bit, but the aesthetics were overall great.

It maybe needs a better explaining of the mechanics, and it could be genuinelly good if the concept were expanded.

Robber says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:25am

very impressive debut entry..really nice game, love the opening story. The minimap is a great idea, too bad is has no functionallity yet..really enjoyed playinjg

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:50am

Tons of fun! Great use of theme! very polished, this really felt like a complete game. The voice acting and the writing in the story was hilarious. And it was fun moving around and watching all the bunnies jump on top of each other. Thanks for playing!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Dammit this rabbits, I barely can predict their growth.
The game is pretty polished and I have a lot of fun playing. The intro made me laugh. I almost cant see any problems despite of the difficult and the lack of AI in the knights.
Really nice job guys! I love it!

broknecho says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:44pm

That was really fun! Like really like these side scrolling strategy games. The placement of the soldier was pretty key and was i felt I really needed to micro manage each soldier. That made it quite difficult to be all over the map.

Great entry overall!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Enjoyed playing it, but needs a bit more visual feedback, took me a while to figure out the controls.

nosfer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:07pm

When I learned all the controls it was fun. Also the instructions for selecting/moving soldiers are switched I think :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:32am

Those poor wabbits...

-Kaz

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:26am

I had a lot of fun playing this game. The bunnies overrun super fast. I was not able to find a winning strategy. THat wizard is eviler than he says. The opening story was great, and I wanted more of it. I did really want a counter of the # of bunnies so I could know how fast I was losing. ALso, a nice crunchy sound when the bunnies get smashed would have been satifying. Awesome entry.

Sadale says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:54am

Nice game! Good graphic, good music. Interesting gameplay. :)

It's a bit funny, tho. Why do I get lost when there are too many bunnies?

Jwatt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Uh, okay, apparently the mouse controls are the opposite of what the instructions say. That took me a while.

It's presented like a strategy/resource management game, but it's more like a micromanagement smash and bash. On a larger scale you just buy all the farmers ASAP and grind some soldiers. Then you just move the guys around and sorta hope something sticks. Seems like wasted potential on the whole setup's part.

The fail condition of 250 bunnies comes across as an obvious quick solution by the programmer, especially when there isn't a counter in-game to support it. Strange because there is a visual cue of bunnies stacking, and I thought that'd be an indication of how deep in danger you are.

Would also be convenient to be able to click on the mini-map and hop around like that. And maybe to not have the instructions just float around awkwardly.

All in all, it's pretty solid, but there are also signs of lackluster time management. It's gonna take a few more bandages to keep this package together, and apparently you've already been working on post-jam fixes, so let's hope something comes out of it.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:38pm

The first thing I noticed is the spectacular graphics, I really enjoyed your style!
The story was very amusing (great voice actor!) although I think it would've been better to tweak it so it's a tutorial. Mostly since when playing I didn't entirely understand what to do and what happens (What my goals are, when I lose etc.). I had to learn by losing.

Music was good and fit the atmosphere well.

A cool polished entry, good job!

Patomkin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Awesome entry! I think I was mostly surprised by the great voice acting! The rest of the game almost matched the first impression: pretty sprites, the mechanics - everything. The controls and mechanics obviously require polish, but that's just a matter of time.
Good job!

esayitch says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Really liked this! Graphics were cool, and so was the story, very funny as well! Only thing I would add is maybe a sound effect for the bunnies. This reminded me a bit of Kingdom, so really good entry :) Good luck in the jam!

vitorlanna says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:25pm

The only game with humor I've played so far in this Ludum Dare haha Great voice acting. I wish the soldiers had a bit of an A.I. so they would chase the enemies that are closer to them. Some sound effects during the game would also be pretty nice. Oh, and there were those UI anchoring/scaling issues. But I haven't played the post-jam version yet, maybe those things are fixed! Overall, pretty nice.

g12345 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:26am

A very funny and humourous game. The voice acting is great, even if the text didnt fit in the speech bubbles, the game is fun even if you die very quickly (or maybe I'm too slow.)

The funniest game I've played so far in this LD.

Skywilly says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Great idea, and i hate bunnies so... ;)

DissonEnt says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:57am

This was a lota fun! Very refreshing to see this. Pixel art is really pretty. Would've been great if there was a quick panning option using the mouse. Would definitely make for a great game. Sound effects would have been great too!

zulman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Awesome. Kinda new approach for mobile town management game :) Hope you'll enjoy our Let's Play Simulator 2016 as well http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:39pm

fuc**** rabbits! xD. I liked, interesting game. Good job!

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:50pm

It looks nice !;) I am downloading ;)

Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Cool simplified version of Kingdom. A bit too much micromanagement for my taste though, would be good if the soldiers did a bit of walking on their own...

randomhuman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:58pm

The intro is hilarious and well acted, and it suits the game perfectly :) The game itself I found surprising in a couple of ways. Like, suddenly it's game over because I wasn't paying my soldiers, but there was nothing to suggest that was a thing... It's a fun game anyway. In fact, I'm going to go play it again right now.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:25pm

I love the voice acting! Very humorous!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:08am

I keel dem boonies! Very nice entry. The story sequence was the best! Really nice voices and manuscript. Didn't expect the bunnies when heading into the game. They grew into quite a horde when left unchecked.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:21am

Addictive! =D

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:43am

Very very fun game. Found it extremely hard to get very far, as either I used too many soldiers or the rabbit population got out of hand too quickly for me to respond, but I still loved playing this.

Oh, and the short story was amazing. Phenomenal voice acting and dialogue. Seriously, well done!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I love the idea, there are some key feedbacks missing ( monthly fee missed, greyed knight button rather than popping button ). Really Liked the voiceover, it gives a nice depth and gives a huge mood boost. Graphics couls also be more readable over a less bright/uniform bg.

Just a hint learned from deepnight, pay more attention to cognitive feedbacks and you'll improve vastly!

Nice entry!

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Nice game, love the graphics, the intro was funny but the text didn't fit its area (last characters not shown)! Good work!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Awesome game, very funny! Liked the gameplay. Only thing I wished there was, is an arrow on the side of the screen to say if bunnies were either side. Thought I was doing well, until, well a garbage load was stacked on one side, where I didn't look :O Good Job!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Reakky good entry overall however the game and win conditions/lose conditions seem a little rushed :/ :)

Farelle says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:16pm

I think the most amazing feat of this game is it's story intro and voice acting :) I love the humor and the difficulty is okay, even though I would have liked to have a fast scrolling option by clicking on the small window on the top left. In overall, it has a very solid gameplay and I think it's fun to watch all those bunnies stack on top of each other and the soldiers helplessly try to get rid of them :) some things that would have made it even better is more transparency regarding that you can only activate a farmer once, unlike soldiers which can be multiplied apparently as much as you have money and farmers can't be upgraded. It's also a little confusing that soldiers only act in a certain proximity around them, so it can happen that there are tons of rabbits around, but the spot around soldier (acting range) is empty :/

Troma says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:06am

Great in most aspects! Killing bunnies never was that full of joy!

Splendid voice acting and nice music. Graphics looks polished and well composed.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:15am

First, thanks for your post. We are glad that you like our game.
We have played your game and we love it. The enemies are soooo cute. Good game mechanics and good mood too. You get our vote.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:45pm

It's a masatapiece!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Awesome Graphics and Audio, loved the voices.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:24am

I love the voice, great work. It's a solid entry, the game reminds me to Kingdom. Good job!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Great work, guys! Loved the game. Everything about it was awesome

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:16am

The cut scene is extremely amazing. I hope no one skips it!
Not the most interesting gameplay, but it works and is fun :)

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:44am

Fun! Nice art and music. Enjoyed hacking up the bunnies.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]