Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vampires suck!

by chriiis88 - Compo Entry

You must grow the vampire population by turning all humans into vampires. Be careful not to attack vampire hunters or other vampires. Drinking blood fills your bloodmeter which you can use to activate Vampire Vision to differentiate between humans, hunters and other vampires.

Controls:
Mouse to select
Q for Vampire Vision
W for attacking

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#369Innovation3.34
#433Humor2.46
#509Fun3.12
#579Mood2.82
#629Graphics2.84
#736Overall2.94
#928Theme2.52

Comments

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Great idea and good game

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:08pm

lol you should have made them glitter :)
good game though, fun to play.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Fun game, good concept too. Nice work :D

Somnium says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Fun game, with a creative idea!

The vampire vision did drain the bloodmeter a bit fast, but the mechanics were entertaining. I liked the graphics - the animation you get as the vampire hunter beats you, was especially funny, and the attack animation worked pretty well.

Great game!

Also, thumbs up for using LibGDX!

jacobturn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

vampires suck.... good concept

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Quite fun. The bloodmeter drained a little fast when using vampire vision though so it's hard to use it without losing.

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:26pm

fun game, very good concept also i see a lot of potential in this game. good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Teeechnically the mouse is a button, so it's a 3 button game. But makes up for it by being actually quite good :)

Also, I'm not a wampire, honestleeey... Bleeeeeeh!

tayl1r says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Everyone is a vampire!

Charzendat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:20pm

A little short and simple but a good idea and fun non the less.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

Good idea & fun!

sathorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:22am

Nice game :). Although vampires do not suck and i find your title very offensive.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22pm

@sathorn: If they don't suck, how else do they get the blood out of humans?

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Ha! Everyone is a vampire!
But I've sucked at this game, lol :)
Very cool for first entry!

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Fun concept with forcing Player to use vamp-o-vision just for a split second to find your victims among the crowd. The whole vampirism spread aspect could be a bit better accented though.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Time has stopped! *turns person into vampire*
The game was quite easy when you can eat several humans in a row (they wont change position very much so easy to remember 3-4 humans that you can eat next)
Gameplay idea was good though :)

kmakai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Interesting concept, definitely a unique application of the theme so good job with that. I liked the polish of the different animations when you try to attack each type of person.

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Nice game, some audio would be great. The idea is pretty simple, it would totally rock if there was some more mechanics and animations. Keep up with the good work!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Great little game ! I really enjoyed the concept. Well done

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Man, this game sucks! For all right reason! ha!

The control was kind of confusing, I'd thought you were attempting a 2-button control theme given the premise of the settings. I was wrong. Allowing a walking mechanism with the arrows would have provided a more interactive experience, I think.

Good job.

-LeMix

dregamr says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:03am

XD
Fun game. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]