Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

2 Buttons 1 Cup

by Must Play Studio - Jam Entry

First time completing the ludum dare and first time ever doing a game jam full stop. Two Buttons One Cup is a puzzle platformer game which turned out more as a cute concept than a game due to restraints (working all weekend) but it was a great experience and good fun to get my hands dirty making a game so have a play and have fun.
________________________________________________________________________________

Mikael Parks
---------------------
programming
programmer art
music / sound effects (with a little help from BFXR)
Design

Hollie Newman
--------------------
Art
design


I cant thank my friend Hollie enough for helping me out, would have been a great eye sore without her :D

________________________________________________________________________________
Win:


Mac:
On my play-through and screen 1360 * 768 looked the best for me :)


Controls
-------------------
left/right arrow or A, D to move
W, space or up arrow to jump
Shift to switch

Note on mechanics
-------------------------
Each button character can only press down the button/switch of the same color (blue char blue switch), (orange char, red/orange switch).
I would of liked to make it more obvious but time constraints :). so i guess a tip is in level 3 make sure you take the blue button character up and around the block so that you don't get stuck :) (i should of had a reset button haha).

Theme
-------------------------
Two Button Controls:

I took an alternate path with this theme and given more time I would of liked to incorporate more as well as the growing theme, here you have two little button characters which you control :)


Thank you very much for playing, have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#542Humor(Jam)2.61
#593Audio(Jam)2.77
#668Graphics(Jam)3.15
#689Theme(Jam)3.49
#800Mood(Jam)2.78
#809Fun(Jam)2.77
#829Overall(Jam)2.97
#900Innovation(Jam)2.49

Comments

ErinMcBride says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26am

You should re-submit, the launcher is expecting a folder that isn't there: "There should be 'TwoButtonsOneCup_Data'
folder next to the executable"

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33am

thank you very much for that, i should of double checked that :)

dementor561 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33am

You forgot the launcher.

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35am

fixing the issue now :) thank you

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36am

No Windows or web RIP dude

Muel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07am

Cute game! =)

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14am

i am hoping the download issues are all gone now :), and thank you

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:23am

Nice take on the theme! I like the Lost Vikings -styled switching between two characters. Well done!

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26am

Fun little platformer!

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33am

Nice game! I managed to finish it.

+ Solid puzzle mechanics
+ I really liked the way you get poured down with the little buttons when you start the game :D
+ Sounds & music were nice

- In level three I think where you first have to boost I went with the orange button but couldn't press the blue button. It was annoying because I had no way of knowing that and had to start all over.
- Would have made it more enjoyable if you could have held down the jump button so that it would have continuously jumped. Somehow that makes platformers more enjoyable to me :D.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39am

It's a cute little game, but my firewall blocked it from using the internet? Why does it request/need internet access?

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51am

that is a very good question, there shouldn't be anything it needs from the internet unless its something on unity's side, or something to do with creating it as a development build. thank you for playing :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19am

Nice! Like the art! Cool physics type of game :) Nice level design as well, good game!

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:39am

I enjoyed the game, fun platformer. :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Very cheerful game. The style is cute and the music is fitting. Level design is good as tutorial levels. I feel like you could do a lot with this concept if you take it further

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Nice you got a Windows build! I beat the game. It was decent, maybe the players could use some speeding up? Also if the platforming involved manipulating the other buttons that might be cool. Good job completing the dare!

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:44pm

thank you :)

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:02am

Cute game and nice graphics. I really liked the music and sound effects also.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:22am

Nice concept, and nice art style :D

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Good Art. Interesting puzzle game with good mechanics. Great first LD entry.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:49pm

So cute! Sound very nice.
But I can't end the lvl, coz I cant click on the button :( bug ^)

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Each button character can only click on thier respective 'button', blue hits blue, orange hits red (that should be orange). Would of liked to make it better known just came down to time constraints, thank you for playing ?

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:11pm

There should not be a question mart at the end of that, should be '!' haha

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:57am

The game is simple, nice mood, but what I really enjoyed was the way the theme was done. Two button controls, haha. Nice job! :D (oh, and I got the firewall alert too btw)

micky says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:15am

thank you :), if you read this could you tell me the warning you are getting, i will investigate and try fix any issue that is causing this :)

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:00am

Cute art, very cute buttons)

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:38pm

interesting interpretation into the theme! Nice mechanics too!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:29pm

This game is charming. :) I think the mood is pretty unique with the lighthearted music and the various art styles.

I think I beat the game, but I'm not really sure... I beat the fourth or fifth level or something and it took me back to the menu. That means I won, right?

This is a pretty funny interpretation of the theme. ;)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:06am

Thank you ?, and yes you won haha, time constraints got the better of Me so I could go beyond the tutorial levels ☺

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:58am

No question mark, and could not go not could go ☺

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Very cute and fun game, but not very intuitive.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Cute art.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]