Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Crane to Freedom

by mhsco - Compo Entry

Pick up items to earn points for upgrading your crane.
Use Right and Down to move your crane claw.

Crane to Freedom!



Unity, Reaper (http://www.reaper.fm/), GIMP, http://typodermicfonts.com/


[OS/X and Linux versions I can't test sorry, just trusting Unity!]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#57Fun3.88
#131Audio3.52
#148Mood3.54
#157Overall3.70
#216Humor2.97
#228Theme4.02
#278Innovation3.47
#331Graphics3.38

Comments

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21am

really fun, nice job! I ended up playing all the way to freedom :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:30am

This is fun! I'm always a sucker for physics games.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:01am

This is a lot of fun! I love the physics and the take on the theme. Reminded me of those arcade machines where you lose 95% of the time!! (God that whale was so hard to grab lol). Also good job on making it non-repetitive as the crane changes throughout the gameplay. Great job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

very clever idea! I totally forgot that there are a lot of crane games that use this kind of two button control scheme.
My only major complaint was that I thought waiting around for the claw to close was a little tedious. It would have been nice if the timer depleted more quickly if no buttons were held down, because that's kind of a signal that the player is happy with their position.
Outside of that, this was a terrific entry with a great idea, pleasing minimalist graphics, and a lovely little background song!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

nice game, it kept my attention for a little while.

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32am

Whyyyyyy did I spend so long playing this!? Because it was super fun :) Good job.

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53am

Had a LOT of fun with this - really great job!

amYk777 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06am

This was very fun. I didn't want to stop playing!

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45am

claw machine, always fun, either its a video game or on real life :D
i hope real life claw machine as good as claw machine on this game :D

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34am

Simple and fun. Like it!

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12am

Save WILLY !

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37am

I played all the way to freedom! Though it didn't seem to end there, I stopped at that point.

It was neat that you could knock balls out with the sides of the crane without grabbing them. Unfortunately, even with the stability upgrade, the crane seemed to swing a LOT when you are trying to position it.

It was kind of fun playing with the physics though.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Simple game bursting with fun. I played for far longer than I should have.

Fervir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:06pm

The music was really fitting haha. I liked the game.
Couldn't get that octopus though, the game went back to the title screen.

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:38pm

I like it. My only complaint is that some of the big items like the whale and octopus got stuck inside the walls & claw a lot. Dropping the octopus through the correct way was almost impossible. The way I ended up getting it was to push it all the way through the wall on the right side, haha.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Great entry! Got to freedom, had a good time. Some of the animals got stuck from time to time on the crane, but otherwise had a great time playing.

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

It was kind of satisfying to grab 5 balls at once, also finally getting that whale out. I got freedom, but quit afterwards. It got repetitive quickly.

It was annoying that half of the play time, I had to just wait for the timer to reach zero. Maybe if it grabbed after 2 sec of inactivity or something.

knason says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Nicely done! Played it for too long. :-) Fun to actually manage to grab stuff, never works for me irl :-)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Nice and simple, kept me playing. Music was nice and the physics were great. Excellent fit with the theme. Nice :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Nice entry. I've always sucked at this type of game though :)

Jimbly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Freedom in 35 1/2 grabs! The extra half because I got the octopus stuck on my grabber and had to shake it off before it'd fall down... Nice job on the game!

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:40pm

hahaha :) Very cathartic and much more enjoyable than it should be :)

The to freedom thing reminds me of that game 1000000 (by the guy who made You Must Build A Boat).

I think the Whale is an allegory to Moby Dick isn't it? Can't get it. FFFFF.

What I would have liked to see
- some way to say grab now (perhaps both buttons together or double tapping down)
- better "handles" so that I could grab things by protruding bits more reliably.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:03am

Hehe, this is cool. Had fun burying the crane in the ball pit and grabbing as much as I could. Unfortunately the game crashed when I was halfway to freedom. Love the whirring sounds and off-kilter farty synth music. Very warioware :>

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Simple but fun - kept me playing for quite a while! :)

tompudding says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Gah your crane is fiendish! I couldn't grab the whale ever, gaaaaaaah :)

xaedes says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:13pm

awesome game, music didnt let me go, made me play until the very end, very enjoyable experience!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:07am

I really enjoyed the game. It was insanely addictive. I started playing, and thought I'd give up soon after picking up a few things, but I found myself continuing on. One big improvement I'd really love to see is the ability to trigger the grabber on your own (maybe press both Right + Down buttons at the same time?) to speed things up. But I really enjoyed it, so keep up the great work.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:49pm

I don't generally like physics-based games, but yours was a welcome exception. The crane mechanics felt realistic in an annoying BUT fun way. Good job!

And now back for that ***** whale.

pixzleone says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Good music with simple gameplay. Good work!

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:53am

I love crane games! :D
The physics in this felt very nice and I was actually able to get the squid (but I had to squish it in with the claw :P).

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:13am

We got it in 40 grabs, though it would have been about 10 less if the octopus hadn't got caught at the top of the chute (against the claw) and later in the chute wall. Nice work, was super fun.

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:35am

Impressive physics in this one! I agree with other players that waiting for the timer felt tedious. Maybe the "down" arrow simply triggers an automatic grab sequence, rather than controlling exactly how much slack you let out. This would mirror how real-life claw games work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]