Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Switchies

by Switchiers - Jam Entry

><><><><><><><

Switchies is a new generation platform game, it consist of a two button control:
--> Swapping the color of a playable ball by pressing "Enter"
--> Jumping on platforms with "Space"

If your ball is red and the platform is Blue (and vice versa): you die!
If your ball touch a virus: you die!

In a level, press "Escape" key to go back to menu.
In the main menu, press "Backspace" to go back.
In downloaded versions, in the main menu you can press "Escape" to exit the game.

Finish all the levels of each world and you will be recognized as a SWITCHIER!

Website: http://switchies.xyz

Authors:
(Students of Epitech Paris)
- CORRAL Hector
- COULON Pierrick
- DAVID Dimitri
- DELAGARDE Landelin
- DURAND Jean-François
- LATTE Yohan
- LEWITANSKI Lisa
- PINALOPES Cyril
- YOUSSEF Seif-eddine

__________________________________________

(!) ERRORS & FIX (!)

Hi, many of you reported us errors about the WebGL version.
Those errors have been fixed as promised! Now it should work correctly for everybody on any platform! If you experience other problems, please report them.
__________________________________________

Thank you for your feedback and enjoy our game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#395Audio(Jam)3.23
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#686Innovation(Jam)2.89
#726Theme(Jam)3.43
#764Overall(Jam)3.04
#907Graphics(Jam)2.51

Comments

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Getting an error when trying the web version through chrome on a mac.

An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
Uncaught abort(85) at Error
at jsStackTrace (http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:1:21731)
at stackTrace (http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:1:21914)
at abort (http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:24:46365)
at Array.WGg (http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:17:24214)
at EI (http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:15:491360)
at GI (http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:15:492121)
at FI (http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:15:491870)
at xAa (http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:13:458023)
at KIb (http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:8:598983)
at __ATINIT__.push.func (http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:1:31833)
If this abort() is unexpected, build with -s ASSERTIONS=1 which can give more information.

lonewookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54pm

I get an error when I try to load the page. :( Chrome.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58pm

here also, you should get this fixed

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Hi, also getting error log crash on game start; Windows 10, chrome.

EwChap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Cannot Play

An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
uncaught exception: abort(85) at jsStackTrace@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:1:21731
stackTrace@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:1:21914
abort@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:24:46365
WGg@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:17:24214
EI@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:15:491332
GI@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:15:492121
FI@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:15:491870
xAa@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:13:458023
KIb@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:8:598983
.func@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:1:31833
callRuntimeCallbacks@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:1:24165
ensureInitRuntime@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:1:24665
doRun@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:24:45059
run/<@http://regiment-myotis.fr/switchies/webgl/Release/webgl.js:24:45481

If this abort() is unexpected, build with -s ASSERTIONS=1 which can give more information.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I'm also getting error. I'll check back later.

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Played on Web, Firefox, works like a charm :) Nice use of the theme, some areas are unfair though. Still fun!

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

The Web (Firefox/IE) version works.

Neat game. Although the levels need to be connected (instead of having to go back to the main menu).

jeff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Hi, many of you reported us errors concerning the WebGL version.

We are trying to fix it as soon as possible but the errors seems to come from an incompatibility between the Unity WebGL player and Chrome Navigator.

We are trying to reproduce the issue but all seems to work well on our computers. Please indicate your navigator and your OS (Windows, MacOS or Linux Version) when reporting a crash.

Meanwhile you can use our Web stable version (only available on Firefox and Internet Explorer) by clicking the download link "Web". You can also download the .exe application if you are on Windows.

Thank you for your feedback and enjoy our game!

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20pm

The way that the game jumped back to the main menu after every stage was annoying, but otherwise, this is a fairly nice game. I would like to mention, however, that I thought it was a bit odd that the character stayed in place after it was pushed back, in most runner games, they will eventually move back to the default position. I'm wondering if this is intentional or not.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Quite a lot of levels, not everything works as advertised though. Sometimes you can jump onto a virus and slide right off like nothing happened, sometimes you can run on opposite colored blocks. I'd prefer less levels with more polish. It would be neat to give the player some feedback on what killed them before restarting, it's kinda abrupt.

Great music, although you never get to hear it kick off. My game also suffers from this, admittedly.

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Nice minimalist game, easy to get into

denycetm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41pm

The music had me bobbing my head. difficulty curve could have been a little less steep on those levels and maybe some sort of purple phase mode would have smoothed out some of the more annoying switches. Good concept made me feel tension at the levels.

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Fun game, and the music was pretty good. I liked logo design for the title screen and the level design.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

I am getting the same error as the others using the WebGL version, the other versions are unavailable for me since I am using Linux.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I tried Windows version now. It's a nice game, and quite interesting mechanics for two buttons. It's really hard though! It would be nice if music kept playing as I died, as it would have felt smoother. Still a nice entry.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:35am

Challenging fun, thanks for making it.

ianh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:20am

The music is really good!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:30pm

nice game, very challenging, well done

Switchiers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:14pm

WebGL errors have been fixed as promised! Now it should work correctly for everybody on any platform! If you experience other problems, please report them.

Haokarlos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I love the idea and the level design!
The tutorial is too long for me, longer than several levels and the navigation between levels is tedious.
Anyways I enjoy the game! So, congratulations! ;)

Switchiers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Thank you Haokarlos!

The navigation between levels and the menu is temporary. The jam was too short in time to permit us to work on all aspects of the game. But we planned to expand the game content and functionalities during the following weeks and month. A link to the "post jam" game will be added soon in the description.

Stay tuned for more info!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:59am

Nothing groundbreaking but certainly a ton of fun. Felt the most like a "real game" compared to alot of things I've played.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:53am

Okay, after the updated WebGL version I get a bit further.
But my browser (both Firefox and Chromium) gets stuck on the following error:

An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:Uncaught unknown compression method

Switchiers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Hi MemoryLeek,

If it stay impossible for you to play on the WebGL version, we have made a Linux executable that you can download by clicking on "Linux" in the Download links.

(It's possible that the downloaded versions are unavailable, we do a lot of small bug fixes, and uploading the changes to our server can take some time)

Switchiers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Hi everybody!

The WebGL version will be unavailable during a time laps of approximately 3 hours, we are trying to resolve some memory problems that can cause a game crash.

You can still play on the Web Player (Firefox & IE only).

Sorry for the inconvenient.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:32pm

@Switchiers: Thank you! The Linux build worked great. A very fun, frustrating and addicting game. I dare say it's among the best I've played so far this LD :)

Switchiers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:07am

Thank you MemoryLeek!

We are working on a dedicated website for the game. On this website you will find all the download links to our "post jam" game versions.

We will keep you informed!

Switchiers says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:06am

The website is now live!
http://switchies.xyz

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:54am

Maaaaaan these levels are haaaaard. Mega rage game, amazing work.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:38pm

It remind another entry for an older LudumDare session, but I forget the name. A good game with an interesting mechanics. There is many opportunities with this project - maybe something more frenetic. Music is great. Well done ++

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Was able to play the Web Player version in IE. It isn't bad but exceptionally difficult past level 1. I never could get past the first red block on World 1 Level 2. No matter what I always hit the virus. I like the idea and the graphics looked good.

Split82 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Unfortunately I couldn't run it :( Anyway I made very similar game few years ago :) http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=15279

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:27am

Wowww.. you weren't kidding about the difficulty, I tried world 2, but there's only so many times I can yell at the computer before I just give up. Nice beginning, can see this turning into something bigger.

akirassasin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:29am

WebGL having unknown compression method error.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:09am

Nice graphic. I like the idea, decent music too. Good job.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Hard puzzle game, but well done !

scorched says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Nice one, please add auto-switching to next level

Stending says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:03am

Oh, some friends from Epitech!
Really nice game, especially for a first entry!
I really love how the game feels, music and visual works well. The gameplay works perfectly fine, it's damn hard, but that's exactly my kind of game!
I managed to pass the world 1 and the 2 first levels of world 2 for now.
Maybe the game needs a bit more "polish", like a better menu, a softer transition when you die, etc... But hey, you made that in 72h!
Congratulations, and good luck for the future!

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:41am

Like the idea. The second world first level is much too hard, i tried for ages and only made the first jump/switch once.

agilejoshua says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:30am

Kinda fun - very difficult to get the timing right when switching between colors...

AdamsMcCall says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Nice concept :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]