Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Currant Matters In Bird Town

by fakefrogsonly - Compo Entry

Play as Currant as he goes through his life in a garden. Relationships with the people around him change as he grows the garden in different ways.

Theme: Growing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#298Humor2.77
#444Mood3.00
#573Audio2.42
#637Innovation2.88
#746Theme3.35
#766Graphics2.50
#805Overall2.81
#806Fun2.62
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51am

Vera Nice game, congratulations...

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:20pm

This feels incredibly rough, there's no sliding collision - I get stuck to everything, the artwork is bland, the music stops when a sound is played, the NPCs talk waaaay too much for a concept so simple and the background clips through the trees.
This feels like a reimagining of an old 80s game for Commodore64.
I like how you've interpreted growing as a theme though.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Wow, all the characters had a lot of unexpected depth. What it was lacking on the graphical front it made up for tenfold from a storytelling and worldbuilding perspective. Thoroughly enjoyed playing, thanks for the experience.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Really rough and boring. I had a hard time figuring out what to do. I can see that you put alot of effort into the story, though.

Harsay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Bush is my spirit animal.
Nobody is ready.

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Cool idea. I liked the graphics and the music was cool (but I think it stops randomly). But I didn't know what to do. I think having the texts be faster would help a lot.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

The character writing for this game is amazing, they all had a lot of personality. I like overall aesthetic too, the music is very calming:) I feel like it could do with a bit more instruction at the beginning, and maybe some more feedback to show if you've completed an action like trample a plant or complete a quest.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:39am

I was blown away. As soon as I can I'll give it another go. GREAT JOB!

MHaton says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:23pm

A little bit janky, but I can definitely appreciate how ambitious this is for a jam game :) Could probably do with a way to speed up text, as there's a lot of waiting around for it to slowly scroll in at the moment

Peekotus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:06pm

I like the growing but nothing else is really good...

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Script was excellent but needed cutting down on I feel, nice though very different.

SnedHlepPls says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:12pm

I like the depth that you've put into the characters, and how they have their own unique personality. The music I think fitted nicely with the theme of the game. I think that the text could have done with being a bit faster though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]