Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bush two buttons

by kailijan - Compo Entry

Hello dear reader,
I am kailijan and this is my first Ludum Dare. My game is called "Bush two buttons".
I used Phaser.io - a javascript 2d-WebGL Framework - as a code base, which I haven't worked with before. This is also the reason for my game to be so short.
In the end I didn't produce the next blockbuster, but in my opinion the important thing is that I learned something new and may inspire some people with my ideas.

I hope you enjoy "Bush two buttons" anyway. If you do like the game's approaches, let me know and maybe I will continue developing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#461Audio2.67
#498Theme3.71
#545Innovation3.06
#598Mood2.80
#782Graphics2.47
#861Overall2.71
#862Fun2.47
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

Pretty creative use of the 2 button theme. I'm not sure what I'm suppose to do after hitting the ? circle. It say press <- and space, where space fires a bullet but when it hits the grey thing it restarts like you lost. Anyway, congrats on finishing your first Ludum Dare :)

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

It is fun and the two buttons give an interesting difficulty to a platformer. The hitboxes seem a little off.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

I think you interpreted the two button theme in a clever way. I've found that you can get the illusion of a more complete game if you include a menu state from the very beginning. It doesn't need to be fancy.

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I couldn't get past the second stage, the monster kept killing me before the bullet reached it. :)

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Funny take on the two button theme. Lack of a menu and some of those kinds of details made it feel less complete, but I laughed when I made the bush jump.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Really liked the feel of the game, the sound design works really well. Would definitely play more levels :)

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:00am

Very nice try for your first attempt. I'd definitely work on expanding the "game" part of the game, but still pretty cool stuff for your first attempt.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:20pm

I like the use of two buttons, changing it up as you progress. It would be fun to see more levels and more combinations.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]