Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hatchling

by Farelle - Jam Entry

Now uses WebGL so it's not restricted anymore Browserwise :)

My first fully finished game AND my first ludum dare :)

It's practically about an egg, that you need to raise by keeping it warm enough to grow up, but one needs to be careful to not overheat it or freeze it to death :D

hint: if you hold down the fire or ice key, it will increase it's power until key is released again.

The Game is made with Unity 5 and Build for Windows and Unity Webplayer (runs in Firefox, Opera, Safari and Internet Explorer)

bugfixes(1.1):
-added animation transitions, to prevent animations to get stuck when changing temperature states too fast

post compo version (1.2):
-temperature goes up and down now, depending on what you are closer to
-screen changes color BEFORE you loose health, to help with reaction time
-smooth screen transitions

post compo 1.3:
-more sounds
-fixed scrambled sound problem
-balancing

Post Compo Versions v1.3:
http://farelle.itch.io/hatchling

visit https://fartoindie.wordpress.com/ for future updates :) and my take on game development.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#341Theme(Jam)3.86
#354Innovation(Jam)3.35
#483Mood(Jam)3.25
#492Audio(Jam)3.05
#542Graphics(Jam)3.41
#745Humor(Jam)2.18
#893Fun(Jam)2.65
#896Overall(Jam)2.86

Comments

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26am

I liked the concept. The state of the egg seemed really unstable, but once you get used to it it's fun to play. The art was nice and combined with the music pretty well.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27am

Nice ! The idea is great and I like the graphic style. Good job, man. The died fœtus is disgusting ahah.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42am

Very cool drawings. The broken egg graphics is heartbreaking :(

Dianouille says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45am

It's seem there is I issue with the mac version, I download it, and I had a .exe. So I tried the web version, and it works well (I didn't test the sound). Graphics are cool, and gameplay is fun, even if I don't really understand how to win. Good job !

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54am

@Dianouille thanks for the feedback, it's possible I have missunderstood how the build settings are working, now I can be sure that it's only windows build and great that it's working with webplayer :D btw. the hatching is supposed to be winning condition, but I admit I ran out of time to make it feel that way ^^"

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Like bobismijnnaam said, it's hard to tell what state the egg is in (except when it's dead). I played about 4-5 times and got him pretty big.. but then he died all the same :'(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44pm

A nice little game. I felt like at the start it could have given you more of a clue as to what to do. I still don't know what the rocks do. Unfortunately I didn't get very far in the end.

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

The broken egg was horrible! really kept me wanting to continue until I succeed. nice work and good graphics!

raybarg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Nice graphics. It was quite a challenge to get to the hatching. Game ending "state" was confusing... I was probably as confused as the hatchling was.

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Liked the concept, although I had hard time to keep the egg from dying. Maybe I'll try again till I get it :)

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Nice little game! I loved the way the fire and ice spewed out randomly, the graphics were pretty nice and the soundtrack overall was really good! Keep up the good work, I look forward to seeing more work from you!

Yword says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:27am

Really interesting and unique idea! Well done!

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Can't play, just black screen and a line "Unity Web Player | Hatchling". Firefox, Linux.

Farelle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:37pm

@utgarda are other games with unity webplayer running for you?

Farelle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:38pm

@utgarda, just looked into it and seems unity web player is only available for windows and mac OSX :/

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21pm

i liked the art and the concept

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35am

The art looks great. If the player had some more feedback it could be a fun mechanic

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:29am

Awesome game! Really cool concept that the execution was very well done (especially in v1_2). The art was great and I loved the 4 note melody too.

g12345 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Nice idea and nice graphics. and congrats for also finishing your 1st LD :)

scorched says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Like the graphics, but don't get what to do after he is born (or is it all?) ;-)

Farelle says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:36am

@Scorched, it's all XD, but I'm working on better feedback for that :)

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:00pm

The idea is pretty interesting. I like it, but the implementation is a little confusing. I had the egg explode even when it was balanced more than once. The post compo version is definitely better from that point of view. I don't get if I have to do anything something once it hatched or not. Overall, a fun entry.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:20am

Hey, just wanted to drop in here and say I saw your comment on my post about audio and replied with the code I use. Not saying I am expert but you mentioned struggling a bit with implementing it in unity so hopefully will help.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Oh so I beat the game! I killed him a few times after being born, thinking he needed more fire or ice/water.

Fun game. Nice art. Good job using both themes too.

Wevel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:17am

Very nice game

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:32am

I liked the concept, but the egg seems to me really unstable - not always easy to acheive this game. However there is a pretty mood. Music is cool. Thumbs up ++

kmakai says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Great job with this, I really liked it! I loved your art style, though it was super sad any time I failed. Good job with the music as well, it definitely adds a lot to the experience. My only suggestion is that the feedback for hot/cold could be a little clearer, but that's not easy to do with limited time, especially when the art style is detailed like this.

Congrats on your first completed game, keep it up!

ragnta says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:02am

I like this game, but what is the ending of game?

publicidadeba says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Amazing use of both theme. 5/5.

Jan 17, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Really nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/xIPr3jDQjJ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]