Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

NO HOBO

by Teren - Compo Entry

You're a barber doing barbery things when a hipster runs into your shop and asks for an urgent trim.

Use the A and D keys to trim the hipster's beard. Rest to regenerate the powerup for extra speed.

Don't let the hipster turn into a hobo ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#24Humor3.97
#245Audio3.16
#272Theme3.97
#351Graphics3.34
#531Fun3.09
#532Innovation3.09
#570Overall3.13
#618Mood2.78

Comments

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53am

This is neat. A funny little game with some music. Good work!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30am

Very good indeed! :D Having spent a lot of time in a hipster-heavy district, I endorse this hipster trim simulator. (alternatively, jealous because my beard is rubbish)

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Liked this quite a bit, reminds me of Wario Ware!

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:06pm

a nice quirky game. good work.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:10pm

nice little game here :) you needed a extra pixel on the left side at bottom and i spent most my time trying to make both reach line at same time so there would be two big nipples ( try it and see what i mean ;)

such a simple mechanic and great fun to play :D

2pae says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Great graphics, i love this animations, good job!

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:23pm

I saved a dude's beard! FeelsGood

Cool little game, really liked the music. Good luck!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Beard boobs! Love that you can crit a beard trim cut.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Haha, I lost and made half of his face a hobo. Fun to play!

I'd love to see a string of little jam games where you're the starring hipster's pizza guy, barista, tattoo artist, etc.

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

A nice beard-cutting simulator! Good use of both buttons. The UI could be a little clearer, but other than that, nice effort!

YinYin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

That hipster hobo line is quite low ...

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Simple and neat.. (:

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:37pm

I m not HOBO. Very fun. I like it.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:14am

HA! This is the first game that has felt appropriate to use the "Humor" category with. I legitimately laughed (both at the face the guy makes as he becomes hobo and at the title-- before I even knew it was cleverly describing the mechanics)

Charming. very charming.

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:27pm

A decent entry, but not very fun. There's not much strategy to it but mashing the side that's longest, and the CRIT mechanic leaves a lot of your success chance up to RNG. Some progression would be nice, maybe upgrades you could buy or something.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:30pm

I never thought I'd have an opportunity to roll a crit on a dude's beard. Thank you!

denycetm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:11pm

The music feels weirdly christmasy. Love that you can get criticals
would be nice to get more points if both sides are equal.

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Initially didn't really understand the whole meter thing. It wasn't clear that it was growing. I think more increments instead of 4 discreet steps would have made it easier to understand.

Then when I understood it the game was just way too easy. Wait till the bar fills, bash, when cool down comes up, stop. Repeat.

Would have done with a bit more nuance :)

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Nice! I was surprised I actually had to use strategy to beat the game...

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Playing the web version I was unable to start the game regardless of how many times I hit A or D or the combination of both, even if the game window had focus.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]