Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Try to eat me

by Zintex - Jam Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare game. Game was made using Unity3D game engine.

If chrome blocks downloading, please disable it in config, use other browser or play web version.


In this game you are cell. Bigger cells absorb smaller ones. Cells without AI and bigger than you are red. You move by ejecting mass using Newton's Third Law. Use left mouse button to eject mass. Green cells are enemy AI cells. Your objective is to absorb all green cells. You can create friendly turquoise cells using right mouse button. Friendly cells will not chase you or run away from you. However if they are bigger then you they can absorb you. You can call friendly cells to merge with you by holding middle mouse button. You can zoom in and out using mouse scroll.

Background texture was made using noise in GIMP.
Cells are meshes made using blender.
Mass ejection sound effect was done using my mouth and recorded in Audacity.
Boundary texture was made in GIMP

Game was made solo during 72h period.
Game is inspired by Osmos, agar.io and Spore.

Additional features such as upgrades or different cell types was planned but didn't made because of time limit.

Controls:
Left mouse button - eject mass
Right mouse button - create ally
Middle mouse button - summon allies
Mouse scroll - zoom
Escape - exit game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#296Theme(Jam)3.92
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#667Audio(Jam)2.45
#770Humor(Jam)2.12
#839Overall(Jam)2.96
#930Mood(Jam)2.47
#977Graphics(Jam)2.22
#981Innovation(Jam)2.28
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

web link not working for me

Zintex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Erlend Aakre, wait a little bit longer, there is no progress bar

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Nice game. There were a few stretched moments where nothing was really happening though. I like having to shoot the smaller orbs out to move.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26pm

"wuwuwuwuwuwush" you win!
Always love the eat and grow style of games :)

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Neat game. I don't understand the point of creating allies though since they don't do anything to directly benefit you.

Zintex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Ben Allen, I know, allies aren't very usefull unfortunately, but you can spawn them in top of enemies to quickly catch them

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Nice work. I like the visual.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Pretty addicting! Simple concept and easy mechanics to pick up! I'm not entirely sure why I would make an AI cell though. Overall, great work!

davisan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Very vice! I played it several times! lol

dos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48am

I'VE EATEN THEM ALL
(and now I'm a bit fat :c)

Osaft says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:56am

Interesting Implementation

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]