Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Not Enough Space

by batmanasb - Compo Entry

Notice: Leave it alone while it's loading, or it will crash!

Update 1: Greatly reduced loading times!

How to play:
Follow the purple race course and avoid all the debris (those aren't collectibles!) As you hit things, the ship modules darken until they break completely. Scroll the bottom left slider and press restart to spawn a new ship, second from the top is similar to Voyager, and the ships get smaller as it goes down. The top slot is for the custom ship, which isn't configured yet, but you can make one in a not so user friendly way if you find the appdata folder.

Guide to flying:
*The ships use impulse to steer (like in Star Trek :P )
*The boost (space bar) heats up the engines but doubles the impulse
*I recommend keeping a moderate speed (don't go full speed!), and then boosting backwards to avoid collisions!
*Another feature is that speed is dependent on engines (more engines = more speed), so try and keep your engines from breaking off

Controls:
*Up/Down arrow keys to thrust
*Left/Right to turn (lowers thrust while turning)
*Hold space to boost thrust (double) but engines will burn if they get too hot

Fly though a race course in space! Featuring an advanced destruction system and awesome physics! Yes, ships can break into pieces! Have fun!

Build your own destructible spaceship in the "config.ini" file in the appdata folder

Made using Godot Engine 1.1-stable, which is amazing and FOSS!


Feedback:
Most people want me to tighten the controls, which I kind of agree with. I think I'll try to make the ship auto-steer and try to follow the mouse, that way it'll be easier and enable higher speed space combat (ex: dog fighting maneuvers) This should let me increase the speed as well. Thanks for all the feedback!


The Future?

Follow me at: https://twitter.com/batmanasb , @batmanasb

This game is a tech demo for a much larger game that I'm working on. It's going to be kind of like Agar.io but with spaceships instead of cells, modules will have different effects and you'll be able to attach new ones as well as battle other ships online mode. There will also be a rouge-like mode and maybe story mode for single player, stay tuned! Although this is my first large game so it may take some time. Wish me luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#480Graphics3.08
#548Innovation3.05
#620Humor2.04
#764Mood2.50
#871Overall2.69
#907Fun2.28
#948Theme2.23

Comments

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

Cool idea, I wish it were easier to make the ships explode and fly apart :) Also wish they went faster.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19am

The ship is pretty hard to move around, but it was fun

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41am

Very nice! Cool concept with nice mecanic :)

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44am

I like the game it was pretty fun and the art style was cool however the race course really wasn't obvious to me and I'm not sure this really fits the theme. Any game could say it was growing backwards when the main character dies.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52am

Doctor_N caught me, but yeah... as the splash screen mentioned, this is just a tech demo of the destruction mechanics. I built the race portion just as a means to give people something to do. The actual game is going to be like Agar.io but with spaceships, and the'll also be a rouge-like mode with AI and bosses, and maybe a story. But I'd appreciate any feedback, suggestions, or random comments about the mechanics. Also, I highly recommend you try building your own spaceship, the appdata file has 2 lists for attaching blocks to your spaceship, and a sample ship with each kind of block.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Game crash

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Specifics please? Which platform, when did it crash?

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:01pm

A good start but too ambitious. Ship controls badly and there is not much a of a game here.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Wish they went faster, pretty cumbersome to drive.

tazdij says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

Good overall, but the game kept crashing on my machine after about a minute of gameplay.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31am

Windows? It might be because I exported it with a custom build on linux, I'll upload another windows build that might work better.

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:48am

Crash :(
http://puu.sh/lVUno/8845d1e3cc.png

rjhelms says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11am

Really cool idea. I think this is worth pursuing further - it could be a really outstanding game if the controls and pacing were tightened up.

smoreley says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24am

Like where its heading, it was interesting to play. But yeah as others have said flying the ship is HARD/tedious. Can you build your own ship (ship in game looks different then the pictures)? Would be neat if the player could.

Baecun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31am

The game doesn't work for me, I'm on a Windows 8.1 64bit machine. The game loads up and the ship appears but nothing else happens. The number on the upper left corner changes but that's it. I've tried pressing the 'restart' button but that just makes the game crash.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

@smorely, yes you can! If you can find the ".ini" file in appdata. You can use a list of coordinates [0,0] is the bridge (cockpit) and a list of modules. I'll make a better way to build custom ships later on.

@Baecun, so arrow keys don't move the ship? Give the other files a try (dual_files might work), but I'm sorry it doesn't work for you :(

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54am

One more thing, the ship I took pictures of the most can be selected using the bottom left slider. Top slot is the custom ship slot (demo ship initially), second from the top is the screenshot ship (modeled after Voyager), and 3rd down is default, and etc. (they basically get smaller)

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55am

But you have to press restart to spawn a new ship!

Baecun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

I finally got it to work, turns out the dual_files one works better. I tried colliding into stuff but nothing happened, the ship stayed the same (pretty sure that's a bug). I can see what you tried to achieve for this game but to be completely honest I don't think it's quite there yet. The art style was really lovely, and was what made me keep trying to get it to work, so well done there. I do see the potential in this in the future, but right now it's quite dull. Don't lose motivation, though, I think you can make something really good out of this.
By the way, people are complaining about the controls but I like it, it gives off that space floaty feeling.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Thanks! Damage is speed based, and if you go slow enough it won't occur at all. But yeah, the system isn't perfect yet... but it's just a small part of a soon to be awesome spaceship combat game. Think Agar.io but with spaceships and space combat instead of cells and eating.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Interesting little "tech demo". I liked the graphics a lot.

tharealjohn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Nice work! Controls felt pretty good - maybe a little tighter as you mentioned. I also really wanted to hear that thrust! I like the art/visuals. Really begging for some sound.

I also thought the race course was not obvious. I didn't really know what to do until I read this page more.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

sorry about sound, I really wanted sound queues and explosions... but the physics had so many bugs I ran out out time :(

LudoGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:12am

This looks really cool, little hard to controll

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31am

The idea for the controls was cool - albeit quite challenging.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:52am

The physics is impressive, I really liked the way the ship can push other objects around.

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24am

I think this shows some promise and that if you take it in the right direction, it could become a great game. Keep at it! You already had me interested with this basic prototype.

barkergames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:23am

Windows version didn't work for me. the 64 bit version never opened and the 32 bit opened just to crash and close at the splash screen.

barkergames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:35am

I loved the physics and how the ship breaks apart. Great job!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:55am

@barkergames, omfg... cross-platform support is a nightmare! lol :P However it seems like only you this time, I've seem 2 streamers open it fine so far. So idk what's wrong this time! But I won't give up hope, but all I can do right now is suggest that you make sure it's the new version, that they are unzipped, check that there isn't another process running (in task manager), and maybe run as administrator. But I'm really sorry it didn't work :(

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:07am

Cool idea especially with the different colored ship parts. Definitely needs some more love. Good start!

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:59am

Love the module ship design. Challenging controls to maneuver, but definitely a lot of fun. Cool game.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:18am

Really cool concept. I like the idea of every part of the ship having a purpose. And I love that you gave players access to mess with the config. I loved the floaty physics and watching the ship break into pieces.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:06am

Keep up the work! THis has some really great elements, and you could take this very far. I really want to sling around space junk and make them break apart.

I kept blowing up my engines, but that was fun in itself!

KayZ says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:42am

Nice, another game with impulse controls :). People don't really like the controls in my game either, and I'm not even controlling the direction but the thrusters. So your controls were quite easy :).

Sadly, no theme in there :(.

Also, I'm not sure if your use of _fixed_process is okay. I haven't done anything in Godot, but giving me more than 200 FPS (having a 60Hz monitor) and my cpu and cpu fan going all out doesn't seem right.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:26pm

@KayZ, thanks for trying it. Also, I thought _fixed_process was slower than _process because it runs at a fixed interval (probably 60fps by default), and _process is unlocked. Also, higher FPS means you're running the game with ease, so I'm not sure why your CPU/GPU are heating up, if the game was barely reaching 30fps than that would indicate stress. So I'm a little confused. What are your specs and OS? I just now tried both the Linux64 and Windows64 (in WINE) builds on a 3rd gen i7 and nvidia 680, and the CPU only reached 50% on spikes but stayed at around 30%, and the GPU didn't even speed up past level 2 (out of 4). Although my FPS did cap at 144 (my refresh rate) for some reason.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]