Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bankk! Be a Better Bank

by ptkfs - Compo Entry

Bankk is a game that gives you the opportunity to run your own virtual bank.

Meet with new customers and investors each month, approving or declining the offers they may bring to you. Then take a vacation and see what the next month has in store.

Grow your business by working with healthy customers and avoiding those who are likely to default on their loans and take from your company. Also, put together a solid portfolio of investors who can support your business without taking too much for themselves.

Check the in-game help menu for more detail.

To play, first download and extract the zip file from Google Drive, and then open the file 'bankk.html' with your web browser.

Should work on any device that can open HTML files in a fairly modern browser. Goal for this project was to build a game that could be deployed to Firefox OS.

This game was built using Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox browsers and may not work correctly on other platforms. Thank you for any feedback or suggestions you may have.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#208Audio3.26
#217Innovation3.60
#320Overall3.44
#398Mood3.07
#484Fun3.15
#662Theme3.51

Comments

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25am

Awesome ! i just had a little audio bug where all the sounds happens at once, wich cause unpleasant saturation.

utoxin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32am

I rather enjoyed this, actually. Well done on the audio and the theme fit. It might be good to make it a little more obvious how to proceed to the next month. It took me a little long to figure out how to proceed to the next month.

But the biggest thing I can say is that I realized I needed to stop playing it, so I could review it.

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:37am

My friends and I talked about a similar concept several weeks ago. So nice to see you implement this. It is way more fun than we expect. Really great idea and implementation.

aplomb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38am

Neat. I found it most fun in Pocket Change mode where I had to work up to higher funds.

It's hard to get a sense of whether things are going well or not. I didn't see anyone ever missing a payment or defaulting on their loans regardless of their credit rating.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33am

It is a nice little game however I find it a little bit simple, just pick everyone that has good credit ratings and it seems to work fine. I am also confused when should I proceed to next month since customer keep coming in if I keep switching between screens. Overall it is quite enjoyable and it would be better if I can track my progress better and if I need to make more decisions

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34am

It's like looking at a shiny power point! I just approved everyone's request. Not sure if my bank is good or not.

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47am

This is a surprisingly fun game! Good job on the audio.

ptkfs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:55am

Some ideas I was looking towards:
> Giving you a better overview of your customers, investors, and finances
> More complicated customers, with things like dynamic income, expenses,
> Market cycle/tides that make company types either more or less likely to default
> Info about competing banks and an overview of market shares
> Better customer and lender generation rules
> Ability for customers to be go behind on payments and catch up... ability to get value back on some defaulting deals... add a third button to change how much the customers are charged.
> Online markets/leader boards

And then some basic fixes:
> Using a better audio management library
> Adding end-conditions... bankruptcy or monopoly.

Thank you guys very much for sharing your ideas, I'll look forward to developing this a bit more in the future.


@jackyjjc: Being able to find new customers by switching screens was an early feature added for testing, but seemed like an OK feature for anyone who wants to put in some extra time before ending the month. I'll look for a way to make that an apparent feature.

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58am

Fun idea. I think that you default to mostly profitable choices though? When I accepted every offer I got, it seemed to run fairly well :)

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Wow, so many numbers! :-) I found it a little bit hard to compare the k-numbers with the non-k-numbers, maybe it would be more easy to read if they are all written the same.
Especially the coin-sound made this game very enjoyable! :-)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31pm

It's a refreshing take on the theme, and it stands out from what you usually see in this compo.

The gameplay lacks a bit of depth, as others have pointed out, which is understandable given this was made in 48hrs.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:28am

Refreshing interpretation of the theme, and it fits very well ^^ (honestly I'm a bit surprised I haven't come across more games a bit like this one. Rather repetitive after a while, but that's to be expected I suppose. Music is pretty cute, and perfect for this type of game (:

kmakai says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:59am

I enjoyed it a lot, but I agree with the other commenters - I wish there was an end game. It does seem difficult to know whether things were going well or not, but I only accepted people with fair or better credit scores so maybe I was never going to encounter someone defaulting on a loan and causing trouble.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]