Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

AGE

by Kouthem - Compo Entry

A simple top-down 2D game with both themes "Growing" and "Two-button control".
You play as someone you don't know, trying get to the end.
As you perform action action, time move forward for you. You will grow old rather quickly.

X to rotate clockwise and change where you are facing.
Z to move in the direction you are facing

BGM created with: http://www.abundant-music.com/
SFX (only 1) created with: http://www.bfxr.net/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#201Mood3.42
#211Theme4.04
#394Humor2.55
#591Overall3.11

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Error (404)
We can't find the page you're looking for. Check out our Help Center and forums for help, or head back to home.

Kouthem says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:01pm

OH man, thanks alot BloodJohn for catching that mistake for me. It should be fixed now.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:12am

Dark! I could not for the life of me get very far. Kept spinning in circles. Or maybe that was the point? :P

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14am

Interesting game, but I got really annoyed by the controls.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

Interesting concept for the theme! Nice music too!

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

Arrrghh I am getting so old! I like the art/audio. Control was tricky at first, but that's part of the fun. Well done :).

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

I'm so sad now.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

ended up becoming all about speed and memorizing the level. I couldn't read half the text because it was all too far away from the path, and going to read it took life away, which i guess in itself was a metaphor

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32am

Looks, sounds, and plays really nice, but I wasn't able to beat it, so I'm judging based off of level 1, assuming there's more. I find the enemy AI to be quite a bit annoying, and I think that the age drains a bit too fast, but I could be wrong.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Interesting concept. I did not escape. Good work considering the short time available.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:29am

Very cool game. I feel as if every person will take something different away from this game which is impressive.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:52am

Nice entry. It reminded me a bit of Passage (dunno if you know about this game and had it in mind while you were doing yours ? :)).
Short and dark, liked it!

Maybe the UI could've been polished a bit more, but anyway good job

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:38pm

The game is awesome! I love the concept of growing in this game. But the use of the other theme (2 buttons).. it really is a problem for the gameplay. I would be better using only one theme ;-) Good job anyway.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Intrest game, looks nice

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Interesting concept, though the execution is a bit bland. Also very hard to get to the end, even when I tried to race past everything! Devs during jams often end up making their games a bit too hard because they've been playing it all weekend :P

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:26am

The art looks really good!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:02am

Interesting! Really unusual control scheme - took some getting used to. I liked the way the character's appearance changed with their age, though I couldn't figure out what the hearts and eyes were meant to represent. Nice art as well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]