Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

1minuteBaby

by jeroenwimmers - Compo Entry

In this game you grow a baby, develop it's brains and jumpstart its heart. This how life gets made. Give it a go.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOTE: moving fast does not make the parts grow faster.
relax and take your time.

EDIT: I made a post compo! I changed some things based on your feedback and polished it a bit. Check it out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#29Innovation4.13
#66Mood3.83
#95Theme4.19
#114Graphics3.96
#176Audio3.38
#421Overall3.31
#851Fun2.51

Comments

Viza says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Nice idea!

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I like this! So good to see unique takes in jams.

tanjent says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Man what a pretty entry. This is so awesome! How can you come up with an idea like this? Now I crave a Coca Cola(TM)! Yes, you must work for them... This is what it is.. A commercial. That why is so slick.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Whoa, very unique. Love the ambiance and intuitive controls. Beautifully simple.

Maybe it's just me but I found the organ ratings at the end screen a bit out of place. A little macabre if you think about it too long.

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

Very cool. Really unique take on the theme.

floppya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

Short but sweet. Interesting visuals!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17am

Very creepy...

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

Good concept! I really liked!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57am

Graphics and audio are really good! Too bad the gameplay was pretty RSI-inducing ;)

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09am

Unique idea, and very stylish minimalist art. Would have liked to see more gameplay elements.

Good luck in the compo!

keepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10am

Simple but really nice actually. A little interactive animation. When the colours kinda inverted to go inside the baby it looked really neat. Good job.

DraKlaW says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57am

A bit simple for me, but really in theme game !

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Really simple, really nice!

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:49am

Very nice entry. More of an experience than a game as while the game wasn't what I would call fun it but was definity intriguing.

local306 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Such a cool game that plays very well for an LD game.

philipp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Could use more gameplay, all I did was wipe around like a maniac. Hope really babys don't grow like that :D

But I really like the idea and the graphical representation. It's definitely unique.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:23am

Really cool idea for the theme - I wonder how many people are tweeting this and whether or not it's creating a lot of confusion among their friends :D

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:36am

thanks for the feedback all!

@01010111 thanks! I've seen no tweets yet, but that's sortof expected. it would be a really weird and confusing tweet. but I found the idea hilarious, so I implemented it anyway.

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:38pm

My boy "Lucious Dare" has just been born! (Seriously I can't tweet that :P)

Short and simple, it was interesting to figure out how the game works. I got a perfect baby on my second attempt - please don't quote me out of context.

Congrats for this nice little entry! I wish you the best for Circles!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:04pm

@Manu & Wan haha, congrats with the perfect baby man! and thanks for the nice words

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:31am

Very interesting take on the theme. The atmosphere was well-built and had a cool, almost uneasy feeling to it.

Masuno says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:36am

This is pretty nice, though I must say that it's very strange. I love how you really don't have time to put everything to max, so you gotta think in what order you wanna grow...

I'd like to see a version of this that goes to show, based on the stats, part of the child's life. Just like a little story would do the trick, so we know how we affect the child. :D

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:50am

Wow! Great game, very unique! Loved it! Congrats.

Pusty says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:21am

I like the idea and visuals you made. Realy good entry

acotis says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:24am

Oh, cool. Luisa Dare. Cute game :D

psychonull says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:02am

unique entry. nice little one.

cimbaman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:05am

Very innovative, and fun. Easy to play, not so to master. :)

phi says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Very cool visuals and sounds. The way you grow the organs feels a little weird, but it works. This would be a great intro to the story of a bigger game!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:22pm

@phi thanks! I agree that the organ growing is a little weird. I worked like 10 hours on different ways involving bitmapdata and alpha masking, but it didn't work out. this was the easier way, but I would've liked to spent more time on it. lesson for next time!

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Simple and nice!

Herzucco says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:12pm

good concept, would be a good turbo media :^)

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:51pm

@Herzucco what's that?

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Very original. Well done.

EwChap says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:36am

very unique idea. love to see stuff off outside the box.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]