Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fleshgrowth

by pzeronow - Jam Entry

Fleshgrowth is a game about stacking weird blocks.

Edit:

Original is the version submitted to this LD.

After deadline version changelog 0.5:

*added highscore system
*Android ready (only landscape supported, although the game plays fine on portrait but the HUD is unreadable)

After deadline version changelog 0.4:

*1 new added block
*changed main menu
*removed red screen
*changes in code to prepare it for Android deployment

After deadline version changelog 0.3:

*2 new added blocks
*4 new music loops
*now the rear blocks won't move that fast when pressing D
*removed end of game when reaching a specific goal.

After deadline version changelog 0.2:

*2 new added blocks
*"better" music
*difficulty slightly increased
*HUD modified so that it's more readable
*you can use the up/down arrow keys to pan the camera if needed

known bugs: sometimes if you hit 27 blocks, gameplay stops for no reason at all

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#247Graphics(Jam)3.94
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#718Fun(Jam)2.91
#750Innovation(Jam)2.77
#764Overall(Jam)3.04

Comments

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42am

Fun to play. Simple but fun, and I like it! The graphics are also nice! Kind of annoying music, but I guess you thought so as well since I can't rate it.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30am

Good fun to play, I figured out a bit of a trick by the end and managed to win the game fairly easily. Good work.

togo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30am

loved the animation. the game is simple but i goes nicely altogether.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50am

Very fun

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:58am

Loved the art for the blocks. Gameplay seemed to stop after I hit 27 blocks.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Nice idea

uthamon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Not challenging but by no means it's a drawback. I love these cartoony visuals with these bizzare blocks. I see potential in expanding it, adding increasing difficulty, and so on. Nice entry. Do You have any site with Your other games? I'd like to see them.

pzeronow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20pm

@Cyranh: thanks! I had no idea what to do for the music, to be honest, so I just threw some samples in together and had it randomly sound in-game. I guess I'll probably replace it with something decent at some point :)

@Taffaz: what's the trick? Spawning the blocks all the time so that you're faster than the incoming horizontal blocks? That's the one I figured out :D Need to tweak some values here and there :)

@togo: thanks!

@gene-z: animating it was funnier :D and a pain in the ass too!

@fakefrogsonly: it stopped without stating that you won? no final block?

@jcwelgemoed: thanks!!

@uthamon: It wasn't really conceived to be a challenging game but increasing the difficulty should be a matter of tweaking a few values (cloud spawning ratio, setting a higher score, and other useful etceteras), but I guess finding the perfect balance would take me a bit longer than the time I spent on it. When it comes to other games, I'm currently working on a RPG which is similar in style (http://rationaleth.tumblr.com/) and I also have my tumblr where I post gamedev stuff I do (mostly animations: http://pzeronow.tumblr.com/). OK! I'm off to play more LD games! Thank you all for your comments.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Not a bad game. Graphics are good and funny. But it's too easy for me. :)

2011petia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Very nice Game, the animations is very awesome, congratulations

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Awesome style and concept. I like it.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Odd stacking game I would say. The totem looks so wierd!
Best stradegy, mash A as fast as you can to stack totem faster then the enemies appear ;)

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Took me a while to figure out what was happening. Simple but cool enough to entice me to play it a few times. Graphics are amazing and the music was just up my alley.

Lancey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

It's fun to play but has a couple of problems. I can't see the score against the white background and the game keeps crashing if I stack too high. With a little more work it'd be great!

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I like the expressive blocks. Took me some time to understand what was going on, but then it was quite easy to make it through. Would have been interesting with some (or more) ramping of difficulty!

pzeronow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:45pm

@HolyBlackCat: thanks! I'll tweak difficulty somehow for the next version.

@2011petia: thanks! I spend a decent amount of time animating those and it's very rewarding to see people liking it.

@Dooskington: thanks a lot!

@AzureAspect: yup, that's an exploit I already added to the list of things that will have to get fixed after LD finishes!

@WakeOfLuna: thanks for the kind words! Glad you even played it more than once!

@Lancey: the score being "hidden" when the background is yellowish white is intended. It's just that I liked the aesthetic idea of the score only being seen when the background is red, acting as a visual feedback that blocks can't be spawned during that time and it's useless to hit the button 'A'. It crashes after it reaches a specific amount of blocks or what's the deal?

@Jakob37: thanks! I'll tweak difficulty on a priority basis! :D

tweedle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14am

Funny animations, gameplay stopped after a while...

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:12am

I concur with the others. This game was too easy, but still fun. Perhaps the blocks floating in the background are the hazards?

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Love the animations, had trouble reading the UI. Fun game though

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Really nice animation on the blocks!
Goooooood job!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:20am

Even though the gameplay is super simple, this oozes personality! Love the weird monster blocks. Only thing I'd say is the text is super hard to read but that's not a big deal. Good job.

pzeronow says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:43am

Hi! Thanks everyone! I've read through all the issues that were pointed out and I've uploaded an "after deadline" version with some improvements. It also has two new blocks and it will probably have more in the future. Check it out and let me know what you think!

zulman says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I played Original LD version. First of all, graphic style is very nice and cool animated. Gameplay is fun. The interface is badly readable because of white fonts. Also there is a problem with gameplay when you start throwing things so fast that you already above the level where obstacles appear. After 26th block i wasn't able to throw blocks anymore. Good game, enjoyed it. Shoutout to artist, keep it up!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Awesome! I hope you continue working on this!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:19am

Pro:
+ Awesome block animation
+ Simple but fun mechanics
Con:
- Too easy (as stated in description)
Obs:
o Played Original version

Great entry!

Indiestry says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:40pm

nice animations!

Starspell says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Got to 27 blocks on the original version and it did soft lock. The artwork for the game is great, it's clear that you spent a ton of time on it. However the game itself is kinda lacking. The controls were not obvious and needed at least a sentence of explanation. In general the game is far to easy too. I like the idea of scrolling the obstacles across the screen though.

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Had a bug where the screen went red and nothing happened anymore except I could .. just read the part where you said the game sometimes stops at 27 blocks..yep, that one, I ran into that one. xD

pzeronow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Yeap :/ It sucks big time that I wasn't able to fix that on time but unfortunately I spent too much time animating and probably way too little coding. The after deadline version doesn't have that bug :)

Zyow says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Really nice animations! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]