Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Waffle Hunters

by Mechamism - Jam Entry

You are a Waffle Hunter! Can you find the silver waffle?
First time doing Ludum Dare and a game jam! Enjoyed it, though I'm very tired now...
The game isn't too long and there's not too much too it, but that's what I get for focusing more on the art!
Thanks to Fiery Warlock for the music! His LD page is here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/fierywarlock/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#281Humor(Jam)3.10
#427Graphics(Jam)3.62
#443Mood(Jam)3.30
#492Audio(Jam)3.05
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#667Innovation(Jam)2.92
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#764Overall(Jam)3.04

Comments

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51am

Not bad! I honestly appreciate it being short since there isn't a whole lot too it. Keeps it from becoming too repetitive. It's a nice, simple game. Although it's a little hard to read, I really like the font.

Mechamism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:05am

Thanks! and yeah, sorry it's not clearer, I was writing pretty frantically towards the end!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09am

Love the graphix!
Now I want to eat waffles

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Short and sweet, nice graphics too.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04pm

I really liked the graphics and audio, but the game itself is quite buggy. The jumping in particular just doesn't quite feel right.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Started a game in full screen, menus were kind of off so couldn't see them properly. But, after that it worked nicely. Played the game through pretty quickly, few pits were a bit handle to jump over. :). art / audio was kind of nice, more work on the mechanics of jump would have been feasible. Anyway, good job :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46pm

I like this graphic style, but the game is a little bit simple, i would like to have one or two more funny feature :p

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Had to play in windowed mode due to the screen being partially cutoff. Also, fell down a pit and did not die. Just fell for eternity. Other than that, it was cute and funny. Overall amusing game. Keep up the good work!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

The inability to turn back actually made the game more exciting. I wouldn't mind if there was maybe some other functionality (doubletapping buttons or combinations?) to perform some "waffle power" or similar what-not, but with only these two controls the game could have been made easily longer, if there were some fun obstacles or pesky enemies :D

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Not going to eat that blue waffle eww hahaha

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04pm

I'm sorry, I can't play Windows games.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Jumping feels off but you made a simple game.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09pm

I would play it, but I'm on Linux right now and it doesn't work with wine.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:10am

Neat little idea. I like the "go at your own pace" infinite runner thing it's got going, and the music and art was very peaceful.

As others have said, there are some funny bugs about jumping and menus being off. I fixed the menu by making sure to set to my native monitor resolution on the unity launcher.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:24am

I liked the graphics. Nice job!

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:16pm

My only suggestion is to put some tolerance of movement to the character camera, that way he could jump small heights without the view being locked to it. I like the idea of "only forward". Good job!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:28am

Really good LD shot! I love graphic and sound. It has some really good atmosphere.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Has potential! Need to fix the camera when the player jumps and maybe add some difficulty to the game. Congratz!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]