Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Match It

by Tackwin - Compo Entry

In this game you need to match the "item" with the right part of the screen.
use QD/WD or left and right or mouse button.

(I know that someone got the same idea, thank you for your comprehension)

Uncompress the file in a folder, then launch LD34.exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#53Fun3.89
#155Audio3.44
#189Mood3.45
#388Overall3.35
#446Theme3.78
#557Innovation3.04
#693Graphics2.69

Comments

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59pm

addictive. |Must be played in sync with music to enjoy :P

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55pm

This was genuinely fun to play and is easily something I'd go back to playing outside of rating entries. It's such a simple yet addictive game and I could easily see this being a hit as a mobile or browser game. The color shifts really spice things up too.

Overall, great fun. My highscore is 27500 :)

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:04pm

The gameplay is simple, yet really addictive even if it made my sight funny after I stared at the changing colors for some time :P

Sometimes the music would not start off after replaying and I didn't really understand if it was somehow "synced" or not.

Still, a great, polished entry! Congratulations!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35pm

A nice little game. I have done similar commercial games for a client :-) I like it!

Keelan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Simple and great. Played way longer than I expected when I opened it.

coywolf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Really enjoyed it. It's very simple and the graphics were clean and cohesive.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:53am

Very addictive and fun. Gameplay was tight and it had very good replay value. Overall great game.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Good little game, reminds me of the bomb mini game on mario 64 DS

architect404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:56pm

simple and fun but could've done with a rhythm matching element or some kind of increasing difficulty. colour changing somewhat helps it not get stale too quick.

Tackwin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:17pm

I thought on making some object disappear in the middle of the file, i didn't knew if it would be good or not, so i didn't implemented it. But i'll definitively give it a go

Tackwin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:04am

Queue*

kmakai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Really fun, great execution of a simple concept that fits the theme well. I liked the added touch of the colors changing each time you restart, and the music was spot on. Congrats!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:29am

Simple but interesting. I love it.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Nice game. I suck at these kind of games, but thats me! lol Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]