Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GrowJump

by shar - Compo Entry

My first entry in Ludum Dare ever. This is terrible gaem, that took me 8 hours.

The goal is gaining score by growing plant. There are enemies: dangerous plants and kites.

Movement:
Hold arrow keys to move the character.
Press space to jump.
Hold shift for moving slowly.

ATTENTION! Due to bad reputation of yadi.sk fileloader, I just uploaded my game in Dropbox.
Download links:
Dropbox: https://www.dropbox.com/s/r1o5nnbtgwa5mcb/frowJump.rar?dl=0
yadi.sk: https://yadi.sk/d/QQRPsMtTmBETd

Watch the timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7hvvXcDzg8
Full twitch VOD: http://www.twitch.tv/sharusachev/v/29558545

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#317Theme3.92
#340Humor2.67
#357Innovation3.36
#362Fun3.31
#451Overall3.27
#481Audio2.63
#675Graphics2.73
#697Mood2.65

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:10am

nice simple game :0

Mantlair says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Nice idea. Art looks cool!

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Actually, I had this idea at first before making Grow-O-Land!

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Interesting gameplay.

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Like the combination of the two topics :)
It is a cool small game, I like it.

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Sorry, didn´t see the controlls (I played it at the first time with only the arrows) nevertheless, still cool (if you play it with only the left/right arrow keys, it makes it a bit more challenging

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09am

Theres something about the start of this game that I really like, how the plants grow wherever you walk. Game itself is nice too. Well done :)

shar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56am

Thank you, guys โ—‰โ—กโ—‰

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:30pm

walking on the ground making all the plants come out is just hilarious

shar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Sorry guys, for inconvenient yadi.sk hosting. I just uploaded my game in Dropbox. See https://www.dropbox.com/s/r1o5nnbtgwa5mcb/frowJump.rar?dl=0

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Got stuck when two plants converged. :c Send help please! (Or an axe)

CogComp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:02am

Really great idea!

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:35am

nice idea! i tried several times to find out that it would be better to step on ground at the beginning to grow more plantforms XD

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Nice idea :) Well executed also

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:30am

This game has really interesting art! I love your style.

Afendar says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:59pm

funny game ! good idea and generation is great fun. il like it !

jachepe says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:20am

Solid and funny game! Great work!

dollarone says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Hey this is a really cool game. I enjoyed strategically making lots of branches to try to ward off birds. Simple yet challenging! Good stuff

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:00pm

This is a fun simple little game. The beginning with all the plants growing is an interesting mechanic - the player has to decide how many plants they want in the later parts of the game. Too few, and it might be hard to avoid obstacles; too many, and the player may become trapped.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]