Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tail Power

by maartene - Compo Entry

# README #

## Ludum Dare 34 entry ##

* Theme: Growing
* Game created from scratch in 48 hours by Maarten Engels (maarten@thedreamweb.eu).
* Licensed CC4 BY NC

### About the game ###
Frantic top down shooter where growing your tail grants you power. But beware, as too long a tail might bite you in the...
You will need the power because enemies become exponentially tougher, muhahaha.

### About the entry ###
This game was created using the following tooling:

* Unity3D
* 3D models: Blender
* 2D images: Pixelmator
* Sound effects: AS3SFXR (http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/)
* Music: Abundant Music (http://www.abundant-music.com)

Unfortunately, I couldn't add everything I wanted:

* power-ups
* using the tail as a weapon itself
* more enemy types

### This repository ###

* Contains work in progress version so no guarantees it works;
* You can use the assets (scripts, "art", music / noise, ...) as you like within the limits of the License.
* Final delivery in Stable Build folder

### About the author ###
First ever Ludum Dare entry. Main goal: finish the game and submit it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#187Audio3.33
#249Fun3.48
#490Mood2.94
#506Graphics3.05
#602Overall3.10
#672Innovation2.80
#809Theme3.24
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58am

Good game. Fun to play. I found it hard to line up and take a shot. Perhaps we could turn faster? minor point. Good Audio too.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Cool little take on the 'snake' game. On OSX, Ctrl + arrows did something funky... D: But as long as I don't press them at the same time, it's fine. :D

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Decent little game. My only complaint is that the sound is painfully loud, and with the rate at which you fire, it gets even louder. Giving the player a turn radius adds a little more strategy to gameplay!

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Fun game, controls seemed a bit off though.

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Snake shooter !!! I like it :D

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Great game. Love the music. Found it a bit hard to aim, but alas.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Was a little hard to aim but other than that good job!
I like the music

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:32am

Nice game

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Well done! The graphics and music are decent, and the idea is very good! Too bad the controls give you too little precision to aim at the enemies.
Good job!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Neat little game. I saw in the notes that the tail was intended to be a weapon later. I think that would make it a lot more interesting than making it snake like.

alyphen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:08am

Pretty fun variant of snake, without the unstoppable movement and with shooting added. Models are alright, but could be improved. I wasn't too keen on the colour palette used, but by no means does that subtract from the gameplay. The music was alright, and while it could be improved, it was decent enough.
Sound effects were fitting.
Adding online highscores or some other replay value would be a nice way to keep players hooked.

maartene says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:38pm

I want to thank you all for your constructive feedback. I'm currently working on a post-compo version that will have more responsive controls (including controllers), improvements to rendering, online high scores and audio volume sliders. ;)

maartene says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Note: I've added a post-compo version (standalone player only). It has improved rendering, more responsive controls, online high scores and audio volume sliders. Note: I'm still working on controller support. Unfortunately, I only have a PS4 controller, so can't test with the more common XBOX controller.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]