Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Total Recoil

by MAB - Jam Entry

English:
Total Recoil is a game where you are an astronaut falling to Earth and you only have two weapons to survive. This game only have 2 ways to shoot, one is a normal shoot and the other one is with both weapons in the same time.

If you shoot with both weapons at the same time you will ascend because the recoil force, when you only use one of the weapons you will move on the opposite dirección of the bullet. Be carefull with overheating because you won't be able to shoot for a time

Spanish:
Total Recoil es un juego donde un astronauta esta cayendo a la tierra y solo tiene sus dos armas para sobrevivir. El juego tiene 2 modos de disparo, 1 cuando disparamos normal con las dos armas y otro con una sola arma.

Si disparamos con las 2 armas nuestro personaje subira hacia arriba gracias al retroceso del arma, cuando apretamos al boton derecho del raton solo disparamos con un arma y nos movemos en direccion contraria. Cuidado con el calentamiento por que si dejas disparado durante mucho tiempo se te sobrecalienta el arma y no podras disparar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Ezzio_darth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Origianl style, classic game and good idea, good Job 5 stars for developer

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Heheh.. that was some seriously kick-ass music. :D... I wish there could have been more audio to go with that..? For me, adding of audio usually is a crucial parts because it makes game to feel more alive. Other than that, I struggled a little bit to find controls - until I noticed READ ME file at the game root. Anyway, good job with making the game :)

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

A great take on a classic with some fine music. Great content!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54pm

A clever game altogether!
Some featues I would have liked added: restart, removal of menu options that do nothing (Customize).

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

5 star from me. Clever use of mouse position and one button for your controls! GREAT job on the sounds and graphics as well.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15pm

The music was mildly amazing, gameplay was good at the core but needed a bit of UNTZ to it if you get me.

Appreciate your sharing of the rarest of pepes.

Nichii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21pm

I like the originality. Needs more effects and sounds to provide more oopmh in the projectile :)

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Fun little game with a great soundtrack, though would definitely benefit from keyboard controls.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Neat. Took me a while to figure out that the right mouse button is a toggle between the two styles of shooting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]