Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Magnetic

by anshulsinghxd - Jam Entry

Due to interesting turn of events, we had a draw of 2 themes. We took this opportunity to use both of them for our very first Ludum Dare!

Scenario:
You are an abandoned magnet flowing down a drain. Being a magnet, you attract things and thus get bigger (Thus the growing), also making movements difficult. Also, as you are flowing down the drain with waterflow, you have only two way control i.e. left or right.

Credits:

Abhishek Mukherjee -Sounds
Anshul Singh - Animation/Lighting/Level Designs
Pulkit Juneja - Programming/UI/Unity Handling
Sreekar Sai - Elements/Character design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#431Audio(Jam)3.17
#553Mood(Jam)3.17
#575Graphics(Jam)3.33
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#627Humor(Jam)2.45
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#785Innovation(Jam)2.72
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

anshulsinghxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Scenario:
You are an abandoned magnet flowing down a drain. Being a magnet, you attract things and thus get bigger (Thus the growing), also making movements difficult. Also, as you are flowing down the drain, you have only two way control i.e. left or right.
Sorry folks, didnt have time to write full description while submitting the entry. :P

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Cool concept, the physics are well implemented. The visuals and audio make for an interestingly moody atmosphere.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Nice game!

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Was fun!
Some input: The lines of the level segments were annoying. Also the pixel perfect collision felt very unfair :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Seriously good atmosphere! Music and graphical style fit very well to set up the mood. I like the physics and how it slowly gets harder by getting faster. I also like that you increase size if you collect the scrap metal. Makes it punishing for getting too close to the edge. Really solid game!

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13pm

liked the concept well done!

ldfan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Awesome work people! Loved it! Great physics! Nice environmental ambience and mood setup!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26pm

the controls are very smooth, a fun game, with good atmosphere

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Wow, gameplay is great for this type of game! I really like attraction mechanic. Also, his face looks very funny. :D

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:30pm

I like the facial expression of the magnet when he attracts stuff to him. Wasn't sure what the water droplets do. I take it it's bubbles. Good game. well done

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Interesting idea, i like how (in the opposite of the rest of the LD games) it's in your best interest to NOT grow. Pretty neat game mechanic with magnet effect while falling down and trying not to touch anything.

kebabskal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:21pm

A decent one actually :) The little triangle stuff that was attracted to you was a nice touch. Maybe the magnetic fields could be visualised better. But overall solid. GJ!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:56am

Cool little thematic game with nice style. Nice job.

RevelBase says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Cool entry. Nice graphics and sound. Really enjoined playing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]