Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rolling Snow

by ProgramYourFace - Compo Entry

This game is a day in the life of the snowball. Try not to die!
The game controls are as fallows.

A - Move left
D - Move right
(There is no escape button because I can only have 2 buttons. If you wan't to close press Alt+Tab and quit the application or press the escape button if you are in window mode.
Simple, I know ;).

For the game to end two things can happen.

1.) You can shrink to small.
2.) You can be engulfed in an avalanche!

If you are only counting the time I spent actually making the game, It was around 10 hours!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#76Theme4.24
#157Graphics3.83
#313Overall3.45
#339Fun3.34
#470Humor2.38
#735Innovation2.69

Comments

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

The graphics are fine, especially since it's in 3D. It fits the theme pretty well too. But I got bored pretty quickly because the concept is something I've seen in many games before. Still, great job putting this together within 48 hours!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

Love the art style. Fun game, nice job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

Pretty nice. The level gen is cool. could do some tweaking on the control and level design e.g. start off easy - with easier handling and more spacious ground, so players can get into the flow.

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13am

A simple, well made idea! Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13am

Great game! A lot of fun! 10/10

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:15am

Nicely done, controls could be more influential though. It's very hard to stay clear of obstacles even with planning ahead.

TheFudster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17am

Solid game. Nicely done!

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

Great job, I like the trees. Works pretty well.

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20am

I like that flat shaded low poly style, well done.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00am

Solid game, lovely artwork. I found that the trees spawned a bit close together as things progressed, but overall nicely done! :)

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05am

A familiar concept but well executed and I had fun. It fits both themes too!

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:23am

Would be a lot better with some sound, but overall I like the game!

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:24am

Nice graphics, simple (sort of overused) but fun concept. My only complaint is that the snowball was a little hard to control.

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:36am

The graphics are nice, but the fog makes it hard to see what's coming. It's pretty difficult to control where you're going too.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:49am

Good game! I feel like with a bit of work, this could be packaged into a little iOS/Android app for being on the bus.

The controls felt a bit slow, but that's probably part of the challenge of it. If I was to change anything, I'd probably make the hitboxes of the obstacles smaller and more distinct.

Overall, I enjoyed the simplicity of it. Good use of theme!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03am

I am a big fan of lowly art and it looks awesome!!
Remind me of that adultswimgame... of rolling the ball from a mountain destroying everything! :)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Graphics are great! Fun gameplay. Meets the theme very well!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Really impressive, fun to play. But a bit too much fog I think. :P Nice job.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:38am

Hey! I decided to try out your game since you said it was so similar to mine :) (don't know why you think that's a bad thing!)

The avalanche is great - awesome way to build up tension when you can see it start looming up behind you. I would have preferred the snowball to be easier to control - right now it feels more like luck of not having something spawn in front of me rather than moving out of the way of things. I also really liked the ski jump but I never got off of it fast enough to be able to jump over trees, which would have been really cool.

Overall, great game! I like how even though our games are basically the same, they both feel really unique :) I guess that's the beauty of everyone creating games with the same themes!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Thanks! I have changed a lot of things to make the controls more accurate. And now you can better use the jumps. Also made the trees have a smaller collier and I also added a min velocity to remove snow. Another thing, I made the generation get harder and harder rather then just starting out hard.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]