Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Munch - The Friendly Environmentalist Monster

by VitasaMode - Jam Entry

Help Munch an environmentalist monster clean up the city before it's too late...

Controls:
- Move with the mouse
- Left Click for shield
- Right Click for speed boost

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#39Humor(Jam)4.00
#279Audio(Jam)3.44
#366Graphics(Jam)3.71
#370Mood(Jam)3.39
#402Fun(Jam)3.29
#548Overall(Jam)3.29
#810Theme(Jam)3.29
#814Innovation(Jam)2.67

Comments

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

My fellow Munch dev :) The story intro was epic. Audio and graphics were pretty well done and the gameplay was fun too. Pretty good game!

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

Fun!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

I really enjoyed the premise. Not many game in the jams with a solid plot. Funny as well. Two button controls is done well, but I don't think you did growing. Correct me if I'm wrong. I know that was a curve ball, and we didn't have to use both themes, but that is my only complaint. So really, again, excellent job!

narve says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35am

Ah yes, a flawless emulation of the United States executive decision-making system.

Everything was great here. My only complaint is that there wasn't more gameplay. There was a long (but well-constructed) intro, and then only one short level. Also, having Munch grow as they ate garbage could have added to the gameplay by making it harder to avoid the missiles.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52am

Simple, but stylish and fun enough to be memorable. Good job!

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56am

really nice intro!

saucygames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:57am

I cleaned the city! nice job man.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Really enjoyed the story :D Cute graphics. :)

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Love the intro! Hahaha, brilliant :)

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:24am

nice story, nice music. The character is cute too. Adding some new mechanisms like power ups might help

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:29am

funny little game, i had fun playing it! story was short and good

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:34am

I didn't really understand how this fit into theme? The creature doesn't grow. movement is controlled by mouse.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:37am

nice story, nice music. The character is cute too. Adding some new mechanisms like power ups might help

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:39pm

chomp chomp chomp!
Launch all the nukes! *nuke explodes like he-grenade*
okay then...
Good thing city didnt get destroyed :D Liked the overall look of the game and the sound effects

Zeriver says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Charming game, with funny intro. Gameplay was entertaining and music + graphics make playing game really fun.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Liked the intro graphics and the dialogue was funny. The controls were responsive and easy to understand. Some slight complaints I had were with the hitboxes from the missiles, they seemed a bit irrationally big or small at times. Also I got hit multiple times because a pile of garbage appeared in front of me while a missile was falling on me. Generally speaking it was pretty fun so good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:39am

that was fun - gameplay was pretty solid - but got old - nice job

Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:16am

Super cute! Cute music, cute animations, cute humor, everything! I thought that he was going to grow as I ate the rubbish, but it doesn't matter cause I ate all the rubbish!!! :)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:27am

Funny game! good graphic and mechanics! Your monster must solve the problem of ecology :) ecology of the earth needs your monster :)

ohmmus says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I felt like you were supposed to be growing as you went, or I think most people expected that.

Gameplay is pretty good, and there's a fun mood, I guess I feel there could have been more done with it.

Pro tip: The White House is in DC...

kowalski says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:46am

Very cut. I'd love to see more of the enviromentalist monster in future GJs. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]