Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wild Growth

by Leon Möhring - Compo Entry

During the development of Wild Growth I tried to build both themes into the game. There are only two controls and you play a growing plant in a dark ravine. The plant must not touch itself or the walls.
You have to collect sun-light-sparks to create blooms and grow up.
The green plant pieces give you the possibility to create a second stem growing off of the main one.
There are 9 levels so far and maybe I will port the game to Android and add more features. It depends on the feedback.

Have fun playing the game!

CONTROLS: Left / Right Arrow Keys

NOTE: Be careful with using the fullscreen mode on webGL on some aspect ratios.
If the webGL version is lagging you die randomly. Consider downloading in that case, I think it is worth it (:

TOOLS:
-Unity
-Inkscape
-Gimp
-Audacity
-My Piano

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Audio4.04
#32Mood4.08
#44Theme4.35
#44Overall4.00
#80Graphics4.11
#84Fun3.81
#259Innovation3.52

Comments

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:58am

Cool game for 48 hours. Great spin on an old concept. Great work.

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:59am

Such a beautiful game, both in sounds and graphics.
It sets the mood real nice, the controls are tight, and the level design is great, good job!

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:59am

very poetic, well done

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35am

I beat it! The graphical style and music were very nice. However it was very difficult for me. My own game is also quite difficult so I can't blame you too much, but that's my feedback. :P In contrast with the nice relaxing mood, the narrow corridors and plant speed were quite stressful.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Love This game, good work

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Very nice polish, love the green lights following the ball. Quite hard though ^^

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Great game well done

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Woah, my favorite so far. Looks great, sounds great, and has a great atmosphere. Well done!

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Beautiful

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05pm

great work!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Magnificent! Really calming. 5/5 theme.

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:08pm

5 / 5 Stars.
That is a game that defines "Ludum Dare" for me.
Great music, fun gameplay, stunning visuals and a nice usage of the Theme.

You Sir, did a very fine job with this one. <3

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Loved it. Great work.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Wow!! nice game... love the art style... glowy! :D

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Very well put together. I really enjoyed the music. Just the right amount of difficulty. Great game.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Wow, did you really made that in 48hours on your own ? O.o everything is just awesome !!!

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

I swear I did that on my own in 48 hours... I was also surprised myself that it turned out great.(First time LudumDare for me!)
Thanks for all the awesome feedback so far, anyone interested in a post mortem mobile game?

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43pm

That's really well done, plays well, a nice idea, very artistic and especially nice music and sounds. It kept me playing till the end, even if it became tricky in the late levels.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Very nice music and mood.

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Great little game. There wasn't any audio for me though. I played the web version on Opera.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Very nice a new take on a 70's game that I like

Andrew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

It was very zen and chill. Up until the last level where it just became frustrating due to the narrow passages and my tendency to over/under steer.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Nice game! Gives me a good mood in combination of music and gameplay

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02pm

this game really lives up to it's name! nice visuals and mood, the puzzle system is very creative, very fun and challenging. great job

hiki911 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

beautiful game, really like it

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:19am

This particular one is just lovely. So calm and relaxing. Completely loved it!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:38am

Nice. I like the choice of colors and visuals. (But why Eb's when collecting orbs??)

candlesan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23am

Loved this game. Difficulty pacing was really good. Lots of little polish details put together to set the mood. Great work.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Great game! perfect entry!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:11am

I didn't like the random deaths. It happened even when I was in the downloaded version as well.

It would be nice to have control over when the new sprout comes out, and have a delay so player can prepare to control the new sprout.

It looks so beautiful, and I'm so impressed that you recorded the piano yourself.

zzapp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:12am

Good job, it was a really neat and beautiful game.
The graphics and audio were great, the use of theme great and it was challenging and fun. Seriously great work.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:18am

Really liked it ,controls is good ,effects is fabulous)

Bogden says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:21am

Outstanding game aesthetics. The ambiance is very nice, and the graphics really fit the game well.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:23am

Awesome entry, loved the presentation, feeling and minimal art direction. Searching for the light to keep growing is a really good way to implement the growing mechanic, as are the simple two button controls. The game feels super pleasant to play and it's incredibly polished for a 48h entry. Congratulations!

ragnta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:05am

Great Work! But I don't understand what's happening if I collision with the wall or my tracking. :)

tGiant says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:20am

This is a very beautiful game.
Probably one of my favorite.
Very well done.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:37am

Beautiful, athmospheric and smooth. A great entry! Well done.

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:45am

nice job and... its a really hard game...

Rocketship says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:01am

Very pretty audiovisually. The accurate and responsive controls are a must have for a game like this. The puzzles were nicely crafted, although somewhat dull at some points. Good job!

Komradus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:23am

Visually stunning entry. Controls were responsive and and the game flowed well. Good stuff.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:31am

this is a very cool game and i really enjoyed it

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:47am

Loved the simplicity

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:08pm

My five stars to the mood. Your game has a great replay value, and is very relaxing in the same time. Your piano melody add much value to it.

Great job, and nice use of the theme :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:13pm

I loved the polished look. Nice music too. It is a bit too frustrating, because I had difficulty with the controls. I would have preferred mouse or touch input, but if you want to keep with the theme, I think you should have added some smoothing to the rotation speed to give it a more organic feeling. Anyway, great entry.

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Short, sweet, and challenging puzzle game. The minimal controls worked beautifully here. I really liked the presentation as well; the lights, the simple shapes, the trailing leaves and small blooms you leave behind... the whole thing. Thanks for putting this together for us to play; it's an excellent game, and would be worth porting to mobile, I think.

Little nit pick: I liked how the notes were pitch-bent to match the chord progression in the background, but some of the notes when collecting sparks seemed out of tune by half a pitch or so, though, which made them sound sour and dissonant. If it wasn't intended, maybe consider separate sound effects for each note for a later build?

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:40pm

was intended, but if more people do not like that I will consider to change that (someone else told me te same) thanks again for the feedback :)

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:55pm

nice concept and execution, especially for 48 hours. I liked the atmosphere and the plant aesthetic. really beautifull.

it's cool that you can regrow from other parts, but it felt a bit weird to first intentionally die for it. I also wasn't always sure if I would regrow or it would be death. when the levels got bigger it also got difficult to see where you need to go. maybe a more zoomed out camera would've worked or like it would zoom out over time, idk. despite of that, I enjoyed playing this

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:00pm

In love with that game.

felixreeve says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Brilliant graphics and growth mechanics, really like the generation of vines! Controls are good, although it could give you a minute to get the hang of where you are when you respawn from the green circles

Baransu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Awesome audio :) It made me kind of sad.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Great game! The art and the music are awesome! Congrats to the team

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:21pm

the 1 man team (: thank you very much!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:23pm

HAAAAAAA I did it :] addicting snake like, original mecanic with the growing of another branch, and this could be more exploited in level design to dig this original side. Music was a bit frustrating after a while, but overall cool compo !

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Hah wanted to make something exactly like this but with one allowed bounce from wall. With better graphics could be a thing. Nice touch with calming music.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Great entry. The way you use the theme is perfect and I like this minimalist aesthetic. Mood is quiet even when the level is hard. The music is beautiful. One of my favorites - five stars because you share the source code (jam entry) ++

Leon Möhring says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:48pm

It is a compe entry, I have to share the source code :)

newbeings says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Real nice!

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Very polished addictive game. Congratz!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Nice game, liked the music and the light effects

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Very very nice. The real evolution of classic concept. Great job.

utgarda says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Awesome minimalism, great mood!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Nicely done. Cool production.

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Great fun. Beautiful music and sounds.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:33pm

The graphics is unbelievable! I really love it. Moreover, the background piano music is very relaxing (but it could vary more). Really great game, I love playing it again and again.

bitowl says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:05pm

so relaxing :)

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Very good entry! The beautiful visuals and audio create a very calming mood, the gameplay works well, and it fits the theme!

scorched says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:30pm

This is gorgeous! I wish you could zoom out to see what lies ahead :-)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Great achievement for the compo, the vine is nicely realised with the child-branches flowing along and cool that there are multiple levels. Mood is pleasantly calm even though the game itself can get rather tense.

Suaave says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Great-looking game! It was nice to flow (or grow :)) around with the plant.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Beautiful game overall! like the growing animation, and sounds and graphics are great!

Molpe says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:17am

Soooo beautiful! The controls work perfectly, music, graphics and animation are just awesome!

I've made a short let's play video if you want to check it out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T_qh_7KIT-s

PowerSpark says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:27pm

The music work is amazing. Great level design, theme and mood too!

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:08am

Nice snake-like game, loved the graphics and nice soothing music. Great entry! ;)

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:30pm

I liked it, for me the turning was too fast while holding key. It might be my reflexes, but not able to get very far in the first level without striking all the walls.

I loved the look and graphics were awesome. Love the light/particle effects. Very cool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]