Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bad Doggie

by Muel - Jam Entry

This boy, Junim, just won the rage of Dangerous, the dog.
Now he must run.

Made over the theme "2 button controllers".
My first Ludum Dare and my very first game published.
I dunno if is good, but it's a milestone.
Thanks for playing it =)

12/24/15 UPDATE:

The Newgrounds version is now the post-ludum version with some small improvements.
The original version made in 72h for LD34 is still available on the itch.io link below and in the embed above.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#112Humor(Jam)3.66
#483Mood(Jam)3.25
#572Graphics(Jam)3.34
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#587Fun(Jam)3.07
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#966Innovation(Jam)2.32

Comments

NuvlearGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10am

Well done dude. I absolutely love the art style, the music fits in well. The controls are tight.

An excellent job.

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43am

great game :), found myself stuck on the bins from time to time but a fun one to play :)

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Cute game!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07pm

visually it's awesome :) it really looks like a cartoon. nice job!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09pm

The game over screen reminded me of charlie brown. Loved the music and art too, great work :)

kernel panic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

I really love the presentation! The cartoony animations are great, and that music really works well. However, the gameplay is a bit limited. Trash cans can be a bit sticky, and it would have been nice to have a score counter or something. Overall, good job.

Muel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Thanks, people, for the comments =)

It's funny when you all are talking about the art. I mean, drawing is not my strongest skill. Since I was all alone making the game and had to do everything, art and programming, I tried to do my best but I was expecting something like "Well, that's it, I've made art. At least the game have art now". So, it's kinda surprising for me when I see the art stealing the scene.

But hey, I'm not complaining, it's a happy surprise! Thank ya all.

@kernel panic
I was sure that the score was displaying when I last tested the game before building.
I'll try and fix this. This and the "sticky" trash cans.
I also wasn't able to show the final score on the Game Over screen, but, for the sake of honesty with the Dare rules, I'll leave as is. If I have to put this, I'll have to study and research to code it (I'm very much a beginner), and this would be like adding a feature. I'll just fix what the game already had when I submitted.

Thanks for pointing this =)

Muel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

An update: I knew the score was on the original build haha.

Something weird is going on the Newgrounds embed, and a small portion of the upper edge of the canvas is sliced.
I was trying to fix it messing with the resolution on NG, still no sucess, BUT if you play in fullscreen, you'll see the score =)

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:08am

Dude, nice game for a first dare and first published. The graphics/animations were nicely done. The game play itself was a little damning in that if you lost distance you couldn't regain it, but not necessarily a bad thing. Keep at it, you def got a "style" now expose it!

Caspila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:11am

Great job on your first Ludum Dare game, may it be the first of many. The one thing that looked a bit off was the looping once you get to the "end" of the scene it goes back again. It looks a bit weird. Also, the can colliders are very unforgiving, you might want to decrease them a bit.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Reminded me my childhood. Good game! I haven't see scores. But playing was fun without it.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Very fun. Красавец.

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Good job, it's fun !

bessdlan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:19am

funny game ^^

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:20am

i like the graphics hahahaha

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Oh man! How i laughed of the DBZ reference at the credits XD . Now for the game, pretty tight for the first game, art really set the mood. And the name, Junim, i wonder if for the people outside Brazil it sounds something like a ninja? Well done.

Muel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:27pm

@DrZanuff The name "Junim" is one form of saying "Juninho". It means like "Little Junior" ^^

Thanks for the review, and all praise our savior, who died to save us all... many times!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:55am

Fun, funny, and love the combo of cartoon graphics + music. Only thing really missing for me was a high score system, so I could keep playing it over and over.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:30pm

The game felt lacking overall. it was very empty, and only had two obsticles. throwing in some things other than trashcans and puddles would be nice.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:13pm

LOL, what a typical scene. Liked it, your art style is great and fits a lot wih the comic situation. I played it for a while. Good work!

4/5

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Good game!

Stending says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:08am

That was fun!
Love the art style, feels really great with the background and the mood. :)

gelisam says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:06am

Hmm, does it count as two buttons if I never relase one of them? :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Could do with some sort of scoring system so I know how far I've ran but this was a pretty fun entry and I liked the animations a lot.

Muel says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:11am

@Xanjos

The post-ludum versoin have it now =)

beetracks says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Very good! I missed more obstacles, but its fun to play. The theme is well applied and the art is fun. Simple, but with attention to the details (the girl is frequently looking back with the eyes. Nice touch!) Plus, nice sound design. Few of the games I played took time to care about the sounds. You hear when she steps in the water, in the trash can and the dog barking seems to be on the rhythm of the music.

I see your comment about the art stealing the scene. I think that art needs to be reviewed accordingly to the game overall. Your drawings fitted very well for the kind of game you did. In my opinion, it's better to have some simple drawings and consistency of art than having a lot of awesome graphics without an aesthetic to the game. And the drawings are indeed funny. Well done!

I don't know if it is a good one but here is my best stats, just for the record: Score 815 - Combo 38 :P

Big Cow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Great cartoony graphics and its the right choice of music to go with it. You stuck well to two buttons too. Its a nice way to do an endless running game. Nice work.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:07pm

I found my self stuck a couple of times but other than that it was a really great game actually. I really loved the graphics! They were fantastic I felt. Great job overall!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]