Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Stickman Sam in the High Fly Sky

by Simple Potential - Compo Entry

Stickman Sam in the High Fly Sky is my first Ludum Dare submission ever and honestly the first complete game I've ever done. Kind of an endless runner type of game (endless flyer?). It is pretty simple, two buttons control it:

Right-click and drag to fly Stickman Sam across the screen
Left-click to use your super power to kill all the bird (Sonic Scream). Using the super power will deduct 10 stamina, so use it wisely as you can kill yourself.

Catch power-up to up your score and help you on your journey as you grow higher in the sky and grow your score.

As you flap your wings, you'll lose stamina. Don't lose it all or it is game over. Stopping flight will cause you to fall and regain stamina at twice the speed you lost it, but don't get careless and fall off the screen or you'll lose.

Power-ups include:
Heart: Increases regains some of your stamina and gives you bonus points
Star: Gives you a large score bonus
Booster: Gives you a rocket booster that allows you to fly faster and not use stamina while doing it. And because you are not hard at work flapping your wings, you also regain stamina during the limited time you have the booster.

Avoid birds along the way, they can spawn at random points and come from any direction.

I'll try porting this to a playable web version, but for now it is Windows only (sorry!). Also, the game should work in any resolution but I was only able to test this on two computers.

Source code on GoogleDrive in Zip format as well as the game.

[EDIT]
HTML5 version up on Itch.Io (see below). Works best in full screen
I noticed most entries are posting the tools they used:

Game Engine: Unity 5.3
Language: C#
Graphics: Paint.NET
Audio: Combo of Audacity & Bosca Ceoil (http://online.boscaceoil.net/#!/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#549Humor2.23
#635Audio2.19
#846Mood2.07
#852Innovation2.40
#871Graphics2.07
#877Theme2.97
#882Fun2.40
#928Overall2.50

Comments

tazdij says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

was unable to figure out how to control the character.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Definitely a nice job for your first jam/game! I found flying around in a circle made it quite easy, although the birds losing interest and flying off did mean you had to pay attention. Good job, and good look with jams in the future.

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Fun game - quite simple but unique!

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22pm

@tazdij: Sorry if controls were not clear. If you'd like to try again you can control the player by holding down the right mouse button and dragging the mouse on the screen. The player will move toward the mouse location. This uses his stamina, if you start to run out you'll need to fly into Heart bonuses or Booster bonuses. If in a pinch, release the right mouse button for a short period and you'll gain back stamina at twice the rate you lost it. Left click to use the Sonic Scream super power to kill all birds on screen.

@tayl1r & @PPiode, thanks! I enjoyed it but the 48 hours limit was definitely nerve racking. Next time think I'll stick to the normal Jam :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18pm

I find it very hard (in the nice way). nice little game!

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

For the record my high score is 31,405. takes practice for sure

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Cool game but the falling stars/hearts were far to quick for me to catch.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46pm

@Taffaz - Yeah I wondered about that after publishing. Not sure it would be within the rules for me to slow those down at this point.

garygreen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Simple idea, but fun. I kept having to go back for another attempt. :-)

Ace says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Could've used a small notification before the powerup appeared, felt like it was just up to pure chance whether or not you could grab them.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:13pm

@Ace, totally agree and was going to go back and do that if I had time but I ran out. Right now it is basically up to pure chance, just randomly they spawn at a random location along the top of the screen. There is a timer that ensures one spawns at least every 20 seconds but I never had a chance to go back and do something differently. I was thinking about one occurring every X points and also have them fall at a much slower rate, possibly along some random wavy path to make it a little easier to get to them. Thanks for playing and for the feed back!

YinYin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:28am

Quite fun. I had a lot of trouble fetching the pick ups while flying loops to avoid the birds.

The falling tumble reminded me a lot of my own game :) alternating that and flying was great.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:59am

Fun game. Managing stamina was rewarding. Slowing down the powerups and making health separate from stamina I think would add a lot.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:02pm

would be nice to have any indication where the power ups are falling down. otherwise nice entry.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Nice game! The powerups are pretty hard to catch, but otherwise it's enjoyable, even with the not very easy controls.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:54am

Not bad for a first LD, game is working, gameplay is not so classic, and yeah, it's not very balanced (bonuses are falling too fast to be catched except by chance, and points are so easy to lose and so hard to win), but it's fun to play a little while, so, good job. :)

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

I really appreciate the feedback everyone. Please keep it coming, I plan to work on this game more for practice.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Pretty cool control scheme, I like the need to balance avoiding the birds and rebuilding your stamina. Fun game.

samreid says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:55pm

We got 1390 points, was a bit tricky on a macbook single click mousepad.

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:41am

@samreid: Very good point. I hadn't considered Mac at all. I should recode it to look for the Fire buttons 1 & 2 so they can be remapped.

Big Cow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Simple and quite fun you got the dynamic between keeping flying and avoiding birds going well. Argh it was really hard to collect the powerups though :)

bazkur98 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:01pm

@Big Cow - Thanks, I've actually got the power-ups to fall much slower now and in a wavy pattern so I think that issue is taken care of. Not sure if I can have the other changes. Also, the star will make you invincible for 4 seconds. Not sure I can add these changes to the judgeable game but I'll update it after judging in case anyone wants to try it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]