Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Compass

by linseyray - Jam Entry

A short game about the long-term process of overcoming fears.

"There is a way out of the darkness."
​​
This was my first time participating in Ludum Dare, and I specifically wanted to create an experimental / personal / alternative game. It's not meant to be a "fun" game, but I do hope it's an interesting experience. Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

Thanks for playing!

(use Left/Right keys to move)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#33Innovation(Jam)4.07
#46Mood(Jam)4.13
#315Overall(Jam)3.53
#509Graphics(Jam)3.47
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

goost says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

Like it. Experience was interesting, nice thing with the compass. Even though it is in the name, it took me a while.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Wow! So strange! Much Experemental!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10pm

A small but well done game. I especially enjoyed the change in the visual styles along the way. Interesting way to interpret the theme, I found the movement mechanics quite fun to play with.

martim00 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I liked so much. Simple and innovative. What I'd like most: the mood (the music!) and the message about fear. Good job!

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Found it really visually interesting the way the aesthetics kept changing over time. The game sometimes hangs a few frames. But still it conveys the mood really well. Excellent choice of sound and music. I get that it's not meant to be "fun" but it did strike a chord with me in a good way

Keelan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I liked how the visual affects progressed from very distorted to having clarity. Pretty engaging experience :)

timburbank says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:32am

That was cool! I like how it plays with your expectations as a player "oh no! ominous thing, run away!" and how the abstract graphics managed to make an emotional response. I think it really worked for your message.

linseyray says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Thanks for the encouraging comments! I'm glad it was able to convey its message in an engaging way. It was my main goal, but had no idea if it would work! So I couldn't be happier... :')

ztiromoritz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:03am

"What that creepy spaghetti thingy is my target?" -
You created lot of emotinal tension with this reduced means. Very cool experience. Would have liked to vote for the music/sound as well.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:21pm

I love the experience, graphics works really well. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]