Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wasteful Revenge

by Sourtrance - Compo Entry

The Farmers' Association has declared you the Worst Farmer of the Year. How humiliating! But you're not known for letting others push you around. As soon as the harvest season ends, you'll go back there and teach them a lesson!

Theme: Growing, two button controls (for the farming stage)

Update 1: You can now press Escape to exit the game.

Features:
-Farm tomatoes and potatoes
-Shoot your hard-earned produce at these bullying farmers

Farming controls:
-Use A and D as displayed on the screen

Shooting controls:
-Left and right (or A and D) to move
-Up (or W) to jump
-Space to shoot


Made using Unity, GIMP and FL Studio.
The font used is Visitor by Brian Kent.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Humor3.95
#143Fun3.65
#297Audio3.05
#336Mood3.18
#377Overall3.36
#407Innovation3.26
#526Graphics3.00
#625Theme3.55
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Funny game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/vvV25Dw2BHg

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

A really fun game!

amorphous says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30am

Interesting game. The planting mechanic was pretty fun and simple; I could see that expanding into a full game with more fields and more things to remember.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35am

Fun little game with a nice mix of the themes :)

Geti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

That'll show em! Pretty fiddling growing controls, since you threw the 2 button thing out the window for the revenge section i'd say it'd be worth doing for the growing section too.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39am

Brilliant. I was mostly confused with the farming section but the revenge section really makes the game sense you only have as much ammo as you got in the farming section. I think the farming could be explained a little better but overall it's a great game.

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47am

Really fun to play!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57am

Revenge is always the answer. Always.

So many cool features in this game, I love how the enemies from the previous round are still lying on the floor next time you dish out some revenge.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

Love the revenge round!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Fun game and good use of the theme! Interesting concept, good to see you put that food to use!

Luxorix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Good!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Pretty original concept, haha. Love the fact that you need to plant some tomatoes first to shoot them later. Good job!

srakowski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:23am

Ha, I laughed pretty hard at the revenge phase. Great idea, well done!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:55am

Nice job combining the two themes.

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:49am

nice game! I like it :)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:41pm

I like the concept.

A bit unsure about the planting and harvesting phase though.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:13am

That was quite a humorous game. Good job! I liked the food mini gun.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:38am

funny tomato game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]