Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Junior Executive Assistant

by AdWARDS - Jam Entry

This is a game about being a Junior Executive Assistant in the Yondermore(TM) Consulting Ltd.

Yondermore(TM) is planet Earth's biggest combined banking, business and web consulting agency, human resource center, hydra-combi-super-personal-healt-training facility and IT service enhancement construction provider.

The game itself can be used as an employee training program (if you're an employer), a self-improvement program(if you're a good employee), a pastime(if you're a mediocre employee) or a fictional story (if you're a bad employee). If you have discovered any new usage of this game, please feel free tocontact us at service@yondermore.org

The game has an ending and a credits screen.
**It takes approximately 15-25 mins to complete depending on your playstyle.**

--
Game was made by three loyal Employees of the Year:
Zerotonin / AdWARDS / WatsuyamaWayabi

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#97Mood(Jam)3.89
#110Theme(Jam)4.17
#183Graphics(Jam)4.07
#199Innovation(Jam)3.59
#500Overall(Jam)3.34

Comments

AlexLamarche says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:09am

It was kind of hard to see cause it was small, but it was great. The graphics were really cool too. :)

AdWARDS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39am

Did you play it on your five-inch screen or missed the description "The game has an ending and a credits screen", try reload the game page empolyee #3267. --By Adam Smith, CXO of Yondermore

AdWARDS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32am

Public Relations Department has received the complain from employee #3267 regarding Adam Smith, we have fired him already for the abuse of power. ---- Coraline from the Public Relations Department

Belug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Neat design, a lot of text to read to understand what to do.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33pm

The graphics are amazing. The gameplay somehow keeps you playing. Great stuff!

ahmedrage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41pm

There is a lot more to this than meets the eye. A LOT MORE!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:43pm

I like the concept, it is interesting. The way you implemented it, with the weird aspect ratio and visuals, is also interesting. I take your word that it has an ending screen cause there is no way I am going to reach it, sorry :)

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02pm

To Whom It May Concern,
I am writing to provide you with a two weeks notice. While I have valued my time at Yondermore Consulting, I must move on to greater personal endeavors. I enjoyed the graphical interfaces provided to me as an employee. I also thought the company's positive platitudes greatly contributed to our work environment presenting themes of labor and corporate ideology. While my experience furthered my knowledge and appreciation of Papers Please-like games, I do feel the length of my work may have been too long for as simple as mechanics as I had to work with. Perhaps if I was provided with more opportunities for personal expression (little rebellions and such) I would have had a more positive experience with the company. Overall, I had an excellent career with Yondemore, and I am proud to say that my time with this corporation was some of the best narrative work I have seen in the competitive field of Ludum Dare.

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Very good graphics and mood. But I didn't quite understand the narrative and I think I missed the point of the game. I think I pressed the last button too quickly and missed the end screen. I would've played it again but I felt the game was a bit tedious to play. nevertheless, good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:47am

Game looks great, sounds great, and love the setting.

walaber says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:38am

lovely little Papers-Please-like. some very clever touches that keep you guessing if you're "playing it right".

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:08am

Perfect representation of what is work today XD aweseome visuals, the choice of resolution is very original but somehow isn't a perfect fit for the game as you have to read this whole paper. Great job nonetheless, congrats

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Interesting, Im probably allready on my way to be the month's greatest worker :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Surprisingly engaging, I played to the end :)
The little messages were great.

Cheers,
Zazine (Tyrants-not-found-team)

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:52pm

It is good of graphic. And the article is so longXDDD

Dege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:02pm

I think I broke it...

Dege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:11pm

No, I did not! ok, now I can give my opinion: I liked it ut it was a bit slow... I liked the graphics I ou user the theme well

RhysD says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:25am

Nice, loved the feeling of pressing the buttons. Very tactile.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]